Wild Velocity Variations [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Wild Velocity Variations

BlueGuitar
10-10-2012, 07:12
I loaded up some 10mm the other day and had a chance to chrono them yesterday. The results were confusing.

155gr Berry's HBRN plated
CCI 300 primers
11.9 gr AA #7
1.250 OAL

Glock 20
KKM standard length 10mm barrel

OK, most of the rounds chrono'd in the low to mid
1300 fps range. However about 6 of the 50 rounds
I chrono'd were well over 1600 fps, with 2 over 1700 fps.
The highest velocity was 1766 fps.

I've been loading for a couple of years and am no where
near an expert....In fact I did over crimp these rounds.
On several I had a stoppage due to a "ring of copper" left
in the barrel due to over crimping and cutting into the copper plating. I can fix that next time by paying more
attention to proper crimping techniques. But 1766 fps ???

My first inclination was to blame the chrono. Well that's like a pilot blaming instruments for readings that don't make
sense. That can be a bad idea.

Any thoughts on where I biffed this one up?

I'm just another crazy New Mexican.

Zombie Steve
10-10-2012, 07:36
Mixed brass?

BlueGuitar
10-10-2012, 07:57
Mixed brass?

Yes, mixed brass

Colorado4Wheel
10-10-2012, 07:58
You need to be very careful. Your asking for trouble with numbers like that. You should not drive plated bullets that fast either.

The G20 has too weak of a spring to control heavy loads. But the spread should be downward not upward.

BlueGuitar
10-10-2012, 08:02
I really did not want to have these velocities with the plated bullets....chauk it up to inexperience. I was aiming for about 1150-1200 fps maximum but obviously miscalculated somewhere. When the first "over velocity" number popped up on the chrony F1 we were beside ourselves...automatically assumed the chrony was wrong. That was simply not the case.

PS. I do use a heavier recoil spring

F106 Fan
10-10-2012, 08:19
How far from the muzzle to the chrono screen?

Richard