Can CAT5E cable be spliced? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Can CAT5E cable be spliced?


HollowHead
10-17-2012, 22:01
Can you splice CAT5E cable? I accidentally cut the line between the house and the workshop so can I just solder/heatshrink the wires back together or do I need to run a completely new line? Thanks, HH

fgutie35
10-17-2012, 22:08
You can, but you have to not just solder but insulate very well as to not loose signal strength. What you cannot do, is split it to feed to devices over one cable.

Halojumper
10-17-2012, 22:11
Here you go

http://www.ehow.com/how_5884064_splice-cat5-cable.html

cgwahl
10-17-2012, 22:28
http://atlantatechpro.com/howtos/structuredwiring/extendingwiring/88-splicecat5

HollowHead
10-17-2012, 22:31
Thanks. I have it back together with wire nuts and wanted to know what to do before burying it again. Yeah, beer and backhoe... HH

Halojumper
10-17-2012, 23:02
Thanks. I have it back together with wire nuts and wanted to know what to do before burying it again. Yeah, beer and backhoe... HH

Lol wire nuts! That's funny but I bet it works

CitizenOfDreams
10-17-2012, 23:22
I'm using a Cat5 run that's spliced together with twisted wires and electrical tape. But wire nuts... just wow. :shocked:

droidfire
10-18-2012, 08:06
Crimp two new ends and plug them both into a female/female cat5 piece...

HollowHead
10-18-2012, 10:46
Crimp two new ends and plug them both into a female/female cat5 piece...

Don't have the tool and I needed this up and running ASAP. HH

F350
10-18-2012, 10:55
It will "work" your way just don't expect 100 meg out of it, most home applications don't exceed 10 meg and that can be done with Cat4. There are VERY specific specs for installation of Cat5 and up, unless these spec were followed your network won't run 100 meg anyhow.

Dennis in MA
10-18-2012, 10:59
Just tie a good square knot and it should work fine.

gwalchmai
10-18-2012, 11:18
Don't forget to wrap it with a bread wrapper if it's going underground.

Chesafreak
10-18-2012, 11:21
I recommend running new cables, but by all means, give splicing a try but don't expect the same data transmission speeds you were getting. The wire pairs were twisted to counteract EMI and untwisting them may affect transfer rates. Also, burying spliced network cables may still allow some moisture into the splices no matter how well you wrap them.

I suspect you are going to take the easier route and splice and will find out later you need to replace the whole cable run when you see how much slower your network connection will be. I hope that splicing works out well for you.

Geko45
10-18-2012, 11:29
The wire pairs were twisted to counteract EMI and untwisting them may affect transfer rates.

This is true, but the fact that it will be buried pretty much negates that concern. Moist earth makes for excellent EM shielding.

Also, burying spliced network cables may still allow some moisture into the splices no matter how well you wrap them.

This would be my primary concern too. Moisture getting through and corroding it out. I'd wrap that splice up tight in several layers of eletrical tape before burying it again.

HollowHead
10-18-2012, 11:32
Update: Solder and goo-infused heat shrink did the trick. Thanks, HH

kensb2
10-18-2012, 11:34
I might have opted for capping the ends, and putting an in-line signal booster there. Not sure without a search if they make them to be buried or not, but I'd have to image so. How long is the run from your modem/router out to your shop?

Geko45
10-18-2012, 11:35
Update: Solder and goo-infused heat shrink did the trick. Thanks, HH

Oh! Smart thinking!

:thumbsup:

Dennis in MA
10-18-2012, 12:35
Don't try it. Splicing Cat5 is like trying to splice pig and elephant DNA. :rofl:

CitizenOfDreams
10-18-2012, 15:31
Crimp two new ends and plug them both into a female/female cat5 piece...

That's the proper way to do it, with one caveat: a lot of those female/female couplers on the market are complete and utter junk. Don't use the "$1.99, free shipping" eBay variety, you will regret it.