Anyone ever sand & re varnish your own wood floors? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Anyone ever sand & re varnish your own wood floors?

acaligunner
10-24-2012, 16:57
I have around a 1,000 sq ft of 1" ( wide ) by 1/2" (thick) oak floors that are around 20 years old, and was looking at the Youtube videos on sanding & re varnishing the floors and thought, Is it a hard process to do, or should I pay a professional?

I would sand, clean, add sealer, and then 2 coats of polyurethane.

I am kinda handy with tools and such, and would rent the machine to sand the floors.

What you think.

IndianaMatt
10-24-2012, 17:19
I have never done wood floors, but I make wood furniture so I have some experience with woodwork and wood surfacing and finishing.

From what I have heard, an oak floor can be done and its not particularly difficult. If you live in a decent-sized city, you should be able to rent all the power tools you need. Finishing wood is not usually difficult, and Youtube can provide a wealth of good info, which I occasionally rely on for my own projects.

Bottom line: You should do it. You'll feel proud once its done. And you'll save a lot of money (though not necessarily time).

Just prepare yourself (and your wife!) for a bit of a mess for a few days! Good luck!

Front Sight
10-24-2012, 17:24
Get a quote first. Then you can determine if it is worth your time. Most finishers now have dust free sanders. That is a big plus. They will also have it done in half the time you could do it.

VC-Racing
10-24-2012, 17:27
It can be DIY but I would get quotes before you jump in to it. I know when we redid ours, it was it was cheaper to have it done than to DIY.