Reciprocity: unrestricted CCW.... [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Reciprocity: unrestricted CCW....

steveksux
10-30-2012, 18:07
So I might be going out of state for the Xmas holidays, and just thought of something interesting.

I have an unrestricted CPL due to being a reserve officer, I'm exempt from the normal no carry zones. Other states have reciprocity agreements with MI. I'm assuming the answer is no, but just to throw the question out there, do other states have unrestricted versions of the normal CCW permits, and if they do, does reciprocity grant me the same unrestricted rights in that state if they have reciprocity with MI, or does reciprocity just grant me the watered down standard CCW privs in that state? If they recognize my permit, it IS unrestricted after all... :supergrin:

In case you're wondering, I'm pretty sure LEOSA does not cover MI reserves, as we don't have statutory arrest authority as far as I'm aware.

Randy

BL33D 4 M3
10-30-2012, 18:33
Just be careful of Wisconsin. Those ****ers will pooch you and laugh.

kayl
10-30-2012, 18:39
Just be careful of Wisconsin. Those ****ers will pooch you and laugh.

There's got to be a backstory to this statement...

OP, WI recognizes the MI CPL...

Gallium
10-30-2012, 19:35
No, the states that do the idiotic tiered permits are the states that grudgingly issue permits to non-residents, or to their own residents.

For example, MA has a tiered system. No reciprocity without their permit.
NY also has a tiered system (make that cluster**** of systems), no reciprocity.

If state B honors you state's permit, you follow the rules of the state you are in.

- G

DaBigBR
10-30-2012, 20:12
In case you're wondering, I'm pretty sure LEOSA does not cover MI reserves, as we don't have statutory arrest authority as far as I'm aware.