I need a light. [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : I need a light.


Fwdftw
11-01-2012, 19:15
So i was using a g2 in a VTAC mount. I wasn't satisfied. I planned on getting a HSP mount for it but.. the g2 isnt very fulfilling for me in the white light category. I thought about using a tlr-1 as well on the new 1913 style HSP mount. I do not have the money for a surefire scout light at all. My budget is around 100-150. Mount included. I was also looking at the Inforce WML. What ye say?

MrMurphy
11-01-2012, 19:36
The single stage G2X, at 200 lumens, is 'enough light'.

A Fury, at 500, is far better than any of the others you listed.

I've spent a lot of time in the dark with a rifle and a light mounted.

Those are the two options I would choose, and I 'do' have a Scout.

Fwdftw
11-01-2012, 19:38
also thought about a drop in for my g2...

M1A Shooter
11-01-2012, 21:49
i actually love my insight WL1-AA weaponslight. its a pistol light like the TLR or X-series but it uses AA batteries and is very bright. i have one on my glock now and will be getting another for an upcoming sbr build.

Jer
11-01-2012, 22:38
I used to run Streamlight and Surefire but after trying out one of Greg McGee lights (http://shop.gregmcgeeengineering.com/MTE-Flashlights_c5.htm) on the advice of a local LE buddy of mine, I will never go back. Greg is employed at Ball Aerospace and has some of the best bang for the buck lights you will find on the market. The M3-2I w/1,000 lumen option (http://shop.gregmcgeeengineering.com/M3-2I-Tactical-740-Lumen-1000-Lumen-option-on-checkout-007.htm) comes in at WELL under $100 shipped and the quality is on par with any of the big names at a fraction of the price.

Don't take my word for it, here's a video of him hammering nails into a board with not only the body but also the lens.

MTE M3-2I and Greg McGee Hammering Nails with the Flashlight - YouTube

I tested it out next to a Surefire Fury right when they came out and the MTE w/1,000 lumen option was easily twice as bright in several tests to my eyes and those of several other people who were with me. Don't fall for some who rate there lights at much higher than reality just to market them as these appear to be pretty accurate to ratings as compared to Surefire. I also like that I can use 18650 rechargeable batteries on these in addition to the usual CR123 batteries. This is a good thing because this sucker is so bright you'll be turning it on all the time to amaze your friends.

Give it a shot and you'll be singing the praises of MTE just like me. :number1:

bmoore
11-01-2012, 23:23
also thought about a drop in for my g2...

http://www.lighthound.com/Solar-Force-XM-L-U2-Drop-In-27--9-Volts_p_4112.html

Just put one in my old Surefire 6P work light. They are awesome drop ins. Impact weapons makes very well machined simple mounts.

JBUS
11-02-2012, 00:50
Ran a 6P LED in a DD mount awhile ago. Worked great.

Saved up and now run a 600c w/clicky tailcap in a HSP.

Works perfect for me.

JBaird22
11-02-2012, 06:12
I second buying an LED drop in for your g2. That is the best bang for your buck option.

I have a white tint (and I mean white as In confused for an incandescent light white) drop in made by Lumens Factory that works well. If you want a lot of throw go with one of the bluer tint LEDs.

mjkeat
11-02-2012, 07:08
I use a G2 in a Gear Sector mount. It's as simple as rotating my thumb to activate it.

Mayhem like Me
11-02-2012, 08:30
I like an LED drop in but hate the G2..

Get a classic with a good tailcap and drop in an LED.

plouffedaddy
11-02-2012, 08:35
The single stage G2X, at 200 lumens, is 'enough light'.

A Fury, at 500, is far better than any of the others you listed.

I've spent a lot of time in the dark with a rifle and a light mounted.

Those are the two options I would choose, and I 'do' have a Scout.

http://youtu.be/ncGGmgJbx8Q

I agree; the G2X and 6PX are both good lights at reasonable cost. If you're really on a budget I've had good experiences with the Streamlight Polytacs as well.

http://i96.photobucket.com/albums/l178/tiffani33/Guns/IMG_1287.jpg

SCSU74
11-02-2012, 10:20
I like my light at 12 o clock, haven't had any problems with my x300. It functions great in this location and with the grip I use my thumb naturally rest on the rocker. I haven't found a reason to look for anything different. FWIW I switched from a g2 mounted at 11 o clock and like the x300 a lot better

fuzzy03cls
11-02-2012, 12:05
also thought about a drop in for my g2...
That's the route I went. G2 in a VTAC mount. I'm very pleased with the results.
Also have an X300 on another AR. Happy with that too.

fasteddie565
11-03-2012, 07:28
So i was using a g2 in a VTAC mount. I wasn't satisfied. I planned on getting a HSP mount for it but.. the g2 isnt very fulfilling for me in the white light category. I thought about using a tlr-1 as well on the new 1913 style HSP mount. I do not have the money for a surefire scout light at all. My budget is around 100-150. Mount included. I was also looking at the Inforce WML. What ye say?

I am assuming that the issue is the lack of light, vice the mount? The V TAC light mount is pretty versatile. I put the LED drop in in my G2 and saw a significant difference in the amount of light. Perhaps just a perception due to a more uniform beam? Either way, you will have a better flashlight without consuming your entire budget.

boomhower
11-03-2012, 08:04
I use a TLR-1S and love it. For my usage of house clearing it works excellent. Nice wide beam and not so bright it blinds the user. If your going to be using it outside where you need a lot of throw this isn't what you want.

Fwdftw
11-03-2012, 09:05
Boomhower, I would like something that is kind of in between. Honestly dont see my self clearing rooms.. but hey, who knows. I have a TLR1-s On my M&p 9mm FS i have experimented with on the AR as well. Its ok i just dont like the activation on a rifle.

Fwdftw
11-03-2012, 09:57
anyone that uses a tlr1 thought about the long gun kit for it? friend of mine has one laying around.. i could use the new thorntail mount with 1913 to get the light on up in the front and activate it with a pressure switch.

pics of a surefire mounted.
http://sphotos-a.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-prn1/63118_428715673861855_1042117564_n.jpg

SCSU74
11-03-2012, 13:06
anyone that uses a tlr1 thought about the long gun kit for it? friend of mine has one laying around.. i could use the new thorntail mount with 1913 to get the light on up in the front and activate it with a pressure switch.

pics of a surefire mounted.
http://sphotos-a.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-prn1/63118_428715673861855_1042117564_n.jpg

not a fan of tape switches, one more failure point. with an x300 you can just push in on the rocker instead of toggling it like the tlr. i have never had an issue with "throw" on mine, Ive shot out to 75 yds at night. For my uses I will never shoot further than that, even in daylight

Fwdftw
11-03-2012, 19:34
The single stage G2X, at 200 lumens, is 'enough light'.

A Fury, at 500, is far better than any of the others you listed.

I've spent a lot of time in the dark with a rifle and a light mounted.

Those are the two options I would choose, and I 'do' have a Scout.
with the fury you also have to do a double tap to get the 500 lumens. i want to just be able to go directly into a light not have to do a double tap or anything like that.

Walt_NC
11-03-2012, 22:41
The G2 on an offset was too bulky for my needs and obscured too much of my field of view - I mount mine high because I dislike forward grips. The Arms mounted lights that mount in line with the rail were at an awkward angle, requiring a pressure switch to use them. I hate pressure switches with a passion. The rail-mounted switches are exposed and so have a tendency to cause light ND's as your rifle gets banged around. This can be fixed by gluing the pressure switch in the space between the rails, but that still leaves the issue of the wire going to the tail cap. Major weak point. No matter how well you tape it down, the wire has a tendency to get snagged on everything. I can't remember how many wires I destroyed mounting/dismounting my truck and running around in the woods. It's for these reasons that I stick with a Surefire 300x. I mount mine on the 9 o'clock rail (right handed shooter). It's low profile, lightweight and and I can easily key it with my forward thumb without compromising my grip. Just my two cents.

with the fury you also have to do a double tap to get the 500 lumens. i want to just be able to go directly into a light not have to do a double tap or anything like that.

The Fury 'tactical' model is single output meaning that it's all 500 lumens, all the time.
http://www.surefire.com/illumination/flashlights/p2x-fury-tactical.html

Goldendog Redux
11-03-2012, 23:09
Surefire can kiss my arse. They have to know that their exposed rubber tail cap on almost all of their lights is stupid. That cap must be protected like it is in the defender (I think) series.

I suppose you can buy a forty dollar replacement tailcap for a light you just spend a hundred bucks plus on.

I hate my X300 on my M4 partly because the light gets turned on accidentally when I am moving/storing the gun-killed many batteries that way.

Fwdftw
11-03-2012, 23:19
i was playing with my tlr 1 on the ar tonight after sunset. I ziptied it in the offset location between 9 and 12 o clock on my rail. I must say the 160 lumens is plenty of light at 50-100 yds. The activation is a little iffy as well. With a mount that would set me back around 150(tlr1-s and Thorntail Mount).

WoodenPlank
11-03-2012, 23:27
Surefire can kiss my arse. They have to know that their exposed rubber tail cap on almost all of their lights is stupid. That cap must be protected like it is in the defender (I think) series.

I suppose you can buy a forty dollar replacement tailcap for a light you just spend a hundred bucks plus on.

I hate my X300 on my M4 partly because the light gets turned on accidentally when I am moving/storing the gun-killed many batteries that way.

While the Surefire handhelds are rated for recoil, they're usually not intended for weapon-mounted use. The exposed tailcap is easier to use with heavy gloves or mittens - same with the twist for constant on setup.

The VTAC/Surefire lights are a pretty good deal for the money - same output and layout as a Scout, but without the integrated mount or remote pressure switch in the box. Instead, you get a VTAC mount, and around half the price of a Scout.

Fwdftw
11-03-2012, 23:31
thats what im looking at now as well plank.. what tail cap do they ship with? i was unaware they shipped with a mount.

Cochese
11-04-2012, 01:04
I run the X300 at 12 as well. Its rad

SCSU74
11-04-2012, 21:58
Surefire can kiss my arse. They have to know that their exposed rubber tail cap on almost all of their lights is stupid. That cap must be protected like it is in the defender (I think) series.

I suppose you can buy a forty dollar replacement tailcap for a light you just spend a hundred bucks plus on.

I hate my X300 on my M4 partly because the light gets turned on accidentally when I am moving/storing the gun-killed many batteries that way.

Those sound like personal issues to me... Surefire is the standard for a reason


Sent from my iPhone... which probably auto-corrected something wrong

Kromedome
11-17-2012, 12:52
Another vote for the Insight WL-1AA here.:thumbsup:

M&P15T
11-17-2012, 13:43
Surefire can kiss my arse. They have to know that their exposed rubber tail cap on almost all of their lights is stupid. That cap must be protected like it is in the defender (I think) series.

I have an M951, and I've never had an issue with the exposed rubber tail cap.

Do you mean that you have stored your AR, and had something hit the rubber cap switch and burned out the batteries?

JBUS
11-18-2012, 07:44
I've run my old 951, M300A and now my M600c on my patrol rifle and have had no issues with the clicky cap.

It could just be a storage issue with the poster and I do not want to start chippin' at the poster just yet.

He wasn't specific as to how it's stored or the circumstances surrounding it.

Fwdftw
11-30-2012, 08:38
update i ordered a cree r5 drop in for the g2. WOW what a difference. Now onto a light mount, thinking about a thorntail.

posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire (http://www.outdoorhub.com/mobile/)

Goldendog Redux
11-30-2012, 11:08
I have an M951, and I've never had an issue with the exposed rubber tail cap.

Do you mean that you have stored your AR, and had something hit the rubber cap switch and burned out the batteries?

Yes, that has happened.

As a patrol light however, I have to keep the cap twisted so the light will not come on while it is on my belt.

Granted they are minor things I guess, but to me, for an expensive flashlight, negligent discharges of light due to an exposed tailcap should not be an issue.

M&P15T
12-01-2012, 07:30
Yes, that has happened.

As a patrol light however, I have to keep the cap twisted so the light will not come on while it is on my belt.

Granted they are minor things I guess, but to me, for an expensive flashlight, negligent discharges of light due to an exposed tailcap should not be an issue.

To be fair, those are your issues, and have nothing to do with the light. Getting all pissed off and bad-mouthing Sure Fire products because they failed due to your own particular circumstances is hardly fair.

mvician
12-01-2012, 13:05
http://www.bravocompanyusa.com/SureFire-P2X-Fury-Tactical-Single-Output-LED-p/sf-p2x-a-bk-eag-click.htm


http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f240/mvician/Spikes%20and%20Palmetto%20State%20Armory/P1170193.jpg

TangoFoxtrot
12-02-2012, 06:20
I use an Streamlight TRL-1 on a piece of foward pic. rail. Its works great for me.

humanguerrilla
12-02-2012, 19:14
Has anyone used a tlr-1 HP? The head makes it look like the lights of yesteryear's ARs but I have read good things...

Testing the Streamlight TLR-1 HP.m4v - YouTube

SCSU74
12-03-2012, 23:06
Has anyone used a tlr-1 HP? The head makes it look like the lights of yesteryear's ARs but I have read good things...

Testing the Streamlight TLR-1 HP.m4v - YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eiOJNst71Ao)

X300 ultra... The end


Posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire (http://www.outdoorhub.com/mobile/)

SCSU74
12-03-2012, 23:07
Yes, that has happened.

As a patrol light however, I have to keep the cap twisted so the light will not come on while it is on my belt.

Granted they are minor things I guess, but to me, for an expensive flashlight, negligent discharges of light due to an exposed tailcap should not be an issue.

Why don't you get the clicky tail cap or a different holder?


Posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire (http://www.outdoorhub.com/mobile/)

JBUS
12-04-2012, 17:34
I've carried the G2Z for 4 years on patrol in a V70 carrier and never had a ND. It had replaced my Streamlight Stinger.

I recently replaced it with a 6PX and have had no issues with ND.

Not sure what the problem is with ND's but I carry bezel up.

arushus
12-04-2012, 22:00
B0tach tactical has surefire x300 ultra's, 500 lumens, for $209...call and make sure they are in stock before ordering. I bought one and paid an extra ten bucks to get an included mount that attaches to the front sight so that the light is mounted at 12 o'clock, forward of the front sight. I can't say enough good things about mine, it has been great. I just think that surefire charging $150 for a damn pressure switch, and another $50 for a new battery cover to accept the pressure switch is RIDICULOUS!!!

SCSU74
12-04-2012, 22:28
B0tach tactical has surefire x300 ultra's, 500 lumens, for $209...call and make sure they are in stock before ordering. I bought one and paid an extra ten bucks to get an included mount that attaches to the front sight so that the light is mounted at 12 o'clock, forward of the front sight. I can't say enough good things about mine, it has been great. I just think that surefire charging $150 for a damn pressure switch, and another $50 for a new battery cover to accept the pressure switch is RIDICULOUS!!!

Why do you need a pressure switch if its mounted at 12? Doesn't your thumb naturally fall on the rocker? Mine does anyway


Posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire (http://www.outdoorhub.com/mobile/)

JBUS
12-04-2012, 22:47
Why do you need a pressure switch if its mounted at 12? Doesn't your thumb naturally fall on the rocker? Mine does anyway


Posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire (http://www.outdoorhub.com/mobile/)

I'm guessing because he mounted forward of the FSP and he prefers to not run his hand out that far?

That's all I can guess at this point.

cowboy1964
12-05-2012, 07:30
http://www.bravocompanyusa.com/SureFire-P2X-Fury-Tactical-Single-Output-LED-p/sf-p2x-a-bk-eag-click.htm


http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f240/mvician/Spikes%20and%20Palmetto%20State%20Armory/P1170193.jpg

What mount is that?

bmoore
12-05-2012, 07:32
What mount is that?

Impact weapons, they are fantastic

http://www.impactweaponscomponents.com/product/smc-light-mount-1-00/

SCSU74
12-05-2012, 08:26
Impact weapons, they are fantastic

http://www.impactweaponscomponents.com/product/smc-light-mount-1-00/

Great company and products


Posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire (http://www.outdoorhub.com/mobile/)

cowboy1964
12-05-2012, 08:58
Impact weapons, they are fantastic

http://www.impactweaponscomponents.com/product/smc-light-mount-1-00/

I got my sling mount from them.

$60? Some of their stuff is a bit pricey. But it is quality.

MStarmer
12-05-2012, 09:30
I have to second the VTAC Surefires and Gear Sector mounts. Outside your budget but even for your modded G2 it's a fantastic mount. I cheaped out on my second gun and used a Streamlight with a leftover VTAC mount but in actual use found that the clicky tailcap was just too easy to turn on. The surefire protected thumbcaps allow for the best of both worlds.

http://i245.photobucket.com/albums/gg68/mstarmer/MikesAR2.jpg

arushus
12-05-2012, 12:36
Why do you need a pressure switch if its mounted at 12? Doesn't your thumb naturally fall on the rocker? Mine does anyway


Posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire (http://www.outdoorhub.com/mobile/)

It is mounted in front of the sight, it would be much easier to turn it on with a pressure switch mounted to my foregrip. To turn it on now isnt too difficult, but I do have to reach pretty far to do so. A pressure switch on the foregrip would just be easier.

NCWalrus
12-05-2012, 19:42
I use stream light on my handguns and love it. I believe they have nice AR lights as well


Posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire (http://www.outdoorhub.com/mobile/)

.50 cal
12-06-2012, 01:47
I got shipping confirmation today for my new light, inforce WML 200 lumen model from Haley Strategic, I will be mounting on my Magpul forend and really look forward to testing it out

arushus
12-10-2012, 17:48
I used to run Streamlight and Surefire but after trying out one of Greg McGee lights (http://shop.gregmcgeeengineering.com/MTE-Flashlights_c5.htm) on the advice of a local LE buddy of mine, I will never go back. Greg is employed at Ball Aerospace and has some of the best bang for the buck lights you will find on the market. The M3-2I w/1,000 lumen option (http://shop.gregmcgeeengineering.com/M3-2I-Tactical-740-Lumen-1000-Lumen-option-on-checkout-007.htm) comes in at WELL under $100 shipped and the quality is on par with any of the big names at a fraction of the price.

Don't take my word for it, here's a video of him hammering nails into a board with not only the body but also the lens.

MTE M3-2I and Greg McGee Hammering Nails with the Flashlight - YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=puIv5jijARA)

I tested it out next to a Surefire Fury right when they came out and the MTE w/1,000 lumen option was easily twice as bright in several tests to my eyes and those of several other people who were with me. Don't fall for some who rate there lights at much higher than reality just to market them as these appear to be pretty accurate to ratings as compared to Surefire. I also like that I can use 18650 rechargeable batteries on these in addition to the usual CR123 batteries. This is a good thing because this sucker is so bright you'll be turning it on all the time to amaze your friends.

Give it a shot and you'll be singing the praises of MTE just like me. :number1:

I just wanted to thank you for recommending this light! I got mine in the mail today after looking it over due to your praises. Greg was great to deal with, when I ordered the finland lens, he went ahead and gave me the other lens too! I also bought an offset rail mount for it from him also. The m3-2I in the 1000 lumen option is an incredibly awesome light! It has six different functions! 1000 lumen light, 200 lumen light, 15 lumen light, strobe, two flash per second mode, and SOS mode. I couldnt be happier with it! Thanks again for recommending it! Makes me wish I hadnt spent all that money on my surefire x300 ultra! Oh well, my G20sf nightstand gun needed a light anyway, now Ive got the x300 ultra mounted on it...

Jer
12-10-2012, 18:36
I just wanted to thank you for recommending this light! I got mine in the mail today after looking it over due to your praises. Greg was great to deal with, when I ordered the finland lens, he went ahead and gave me the other lens too! I also bought an offset rail mount for it from him also. The m3-2I in the 1000 lumen option is an incredibly awesome light! It has six different functions! 1000 lumen light, 200 lumen light, 15 lumen light, strobe, two flash per second mode, and SOS mode. I couldnt be happier with it! Thanks again for recommending it! Makes me wish I hadnt spent all that money on my surefire x300 ultra! Oh well, my G20sf nightstand gun needed a light anyway, now Ive got the x300 ultra mounted on it...

I'm glad you took a chance and I can't say enough good things about these lights. The ability to run rechargeable batteries is a sweet feature too! :cool:

arushus
12-11-2012, 10:31
Im glad I took a chance too! Thanks again for sharing, I'd never even heard of them before you mentioned them, but I am sure to spread the word. It fits perfect on my M4. Just wish it, along with most other weapon lights, used a more standard battery. It is ok though, Ive now got three lights that use cr123 lights, so Im going to buy a rechargeable battery set, along with a forty pack of regular tenergy cr123 batteries to have in case of an emergency or the rechargeables go bad.

Jer
12-11-2012, 10:42
Im glad I took a chance too! Thanks again for sharing, I'd never even heard of them before you mentioned them, but I am sure to spread the word. It fits perfect on my M4. Just wish it, along with most other weapon lights, used a more standard battery. It is ok though, Ive now got three lights that use cr123 lights, so Im going to buy a rechargeable battery set, along with a forty pack of regular tenergy cr123 batteries to have in case of an emergency or the rechargeables go bad.

:kilt:

MrMurphy
12-11-2012, 12:17
Rifle lights need two functions. On and off.

Doing an entry is not when you need to figure out if it's on Melt Your Eyeballs 1,000 lumen mode, or 10 lumen "find my car keys" mode.

Speaking from experience..... this is why the Surefire E2D should only be used as a weaponlight with the single-stage clicky cap, not the two-stage it comes with. And why Surefire makes two different version (one stage or two) of most of their handhelds.

Jer
12-11-2012, 12:33
Rifle lights need two functions. On and off.

Doing an entry is not when you need to figure out if it's on Melt Your Eyeballs 1,000 lumen mode, or 10 lumen "find my car keys" mode.

Speaking from experience..... this is why the Surefire E2D should only be used as a weaponlight with the single-stage clicky cap, not the two-stage it comes with. And why Surefire makes two different version (one stage or two) of most of their handhelds.

If you don't know how your torch functions, maybe you shouldn't be doing an entry with it. Seems like common sense to me.

MrMurphy
12-11-2012, 14:14
Accidents happen, and switches get bumped, even among guys with a clue.

Rifle lights really don't need seven billion options. Melt their eyeballs or "off".

Handheld lights, sure, you can have high, low, strobe, Beam Me Up Scotty and whatever other options you want, but having all that on a rifle is rather unneccessary.

The V series Surefires keep it simple with the turn-the-head for IR IIRC, which makes sense, but the "push and hold, push and click, push four times, pause and push twice more for option whatever" overcomplicate things unneccessarily for a weaponlight.

The push-or-push and click for constant on switch with a two-stage head also, typically will cause unintentional switching under recoil, even from 5.56mm.

This is why i mentioned the E2D. People who knew how the light worked and did "NOT" push the correct number of times for the low lumen option were doing entries, expecting Eyeball Melting to occur, and getting the dim beam. This was not cool. The switch itself was switching w/o external input from recoil.

arushus
12-11-2012, 16:36
With the mte all you have to do is click the button to put it on the brightest mode. And this is the mode it always starts off in. So no matter what mode you left it in last, it always starts in the brightest mode. To get to the other modes you just do a soft click. Pretty easy to manage. But I understand the argument.

.50 cal
12-12-2012, 17:16
got my new Inforce light, love it! great quality and dead simple install, I'm happy with my purchase