Question about my Aimpoint ML3 [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Question about my Aimpoint ML3


TLHelmer
11-03-2012, 07:59
I have sighted in a number of scopes and a few Eotechs, but this is my first Aimpoint.

I normally install my Eotechs after sighting in my iron sights. When I do this I align the precision dot on the tip of the front of the iron sight post when it is centered through the rear sight (peep hole). I have found that while this isnt always the eventual exact point it needs to be once you have sighted in the Eotech, it is usually close and limits the number of rounds it takes to finish sighting in the optics system.

Back to the Aimpoint question. I did the same thing with the Aimpoint ML3. I have moved the dial as far as it will go to the right (the dial R that is) and it is still too far to the right of the front post by an 1/8 of an inch. I know that could end up being where it needs to be in the end, but what concerns me is that I have already exhasted my ability to move it any farther towards the post. I would go and actually sight it in today except that I need to wait 24 hours for the Locktite to dry on all the mounting screws.

Has anyone else experienced this? AS I said I am new to Aimpoints. I have never had this with the Eotechs I have owned or used.

ak103k
11-03-2012, 08:29
I always just dialed the dot onto the post (actually I split the dot on the tip) with mine, like youre saying you do with your Eotechs. Never had any issue doing it that way, and the final zero was always real close.

What kind of mount are you using? Maybe thats the issue.

TLHelmer
11-03-2012, 08:36
It is an ARMS mount with a spacer. I mounted it and re-mounted it to be sure.

faawrenchbndr
11-03-2012, 08:56
Sounds as if the mount is jacked.
I stopped using ARMS years ago, I would suggest a Larue mount

ak103k
11-03-2012, 08:57
I have a couple on ARM's mounts as well, and they havent been a problem. Well, except on my SOCOM, but that was the fault of the rail and not the mount.

Just rereading your post, you say the dot is to the right of the post and your trying to dial it more right? Seems you need to go left with the dot. No?

K. Foster
11-03-2012, 09:17
I have moved the dial as far as it will go to the right (the dial R that is) and it is still too far to the right of the front post by an 1/8 of an inch.

You need to go shoot the gun and see if you really have a problem. You may be putting the cart before the horse.

MrMurphy
11-03-2012, 09:53
ARMS mount AND spacer are both the problem.

They're notoriously pieces of crap.

Get rid of the mount, replace it with an LT129 from LaRue, or a Daniel Defense. Either is fine. Even the factory QRP is better than an ARMS and that's saying something.

Most Aimpoints you can 'dot on front sight' and be fairly close. I've zeroed half a dozen Aimpoints with around five rounds each that way. It's not guaranteed but it's usually close.

WoodenPlank
11-03-2012, 10:29
Double check to make sure your Aimpoint isn't canted in the mount. If you didn't have any excessive adjustment problems on your irons, and the Aimpoint is level inside the mount, then you have a dud mount. At that point, I will agree with Murphy and strongly suggest ordering a LaRue LT-129. I have one for my Aimpoint M2, and it's excellent.

Cole125
11-03-2012, 11:00
Throw your mount in the trash, and buy a LaRue mount, now. You should not have to adjust to the extreme end of either adjustments.

Forget your iron sights, sight the red dot all the way on paper. Its what I do with good results.

TLHelmer
11-03-2012, 11:17
Thanks for your responses. I will let you know what the answer seems to be.

faawrenchbndr
11-03-2012, 12:09
Seems if you knew the answer you would not have posted here, buy a Larue mount.

As for the ARMS mount,.........not worth a nickel to me.

TLHelmer
11-03-2012, 15:10
Ok! I took the mount and spacer completely apart top to bottom and put it back together. It is alligned correctly now.

Thanks for all of your responses.

faawrenchbndr
11-03-2012, 15:29
Awesome news,.......a free fix! :cool:

Big Bird
11-03-2012, 15:38
I've shot an ARMs mount on one of my rifles for years with no issues. Larue makes a great mount but don't buy all the hype. ARMS makes good mounts.

MrMurphy
11-03-2012, 18:33
Yeah, that's why a couple thousand guys sent broken ARMS mounts to LaRue and got them replaced.

I've had a guy who had an ARMS break simply riding in a vehicle. Won't ever trust them, even when they're the only option.

ARMS survives on ignorance and government contracts, by having been around a while and getting in when there was no competition.

ak103k
11-03-2012, 19:11
I've shot an ARMs mount on one of my rifles for years with no issues. Larue makes a great mount but don't buy all the hype. ARMS makes good mounts.
Thats been my experience as well.

Ive had an ARMS #35 as well as a #22M68 mated to the same gun for over ten years now, and they have both held up well to regular use, and have always held zero when removed and replaced. I also have/had a couple other #22M68's, as well as a couple of sets of their #22 lever scope rings, and they have always worked as advertised as well.

Ive had a couple of LaRue Aimpoint mounts too, and they do make a nice mount, and they work well too. The only issue had with one was with the same SOCOM I had trouble with using the ARMS mount. The ARMS mounts/rings would at least go on the gun and were still usable, where the LaRue would not go on at all. The problem was in fact Springfields rail, and neither that of ARMS or LaRue.

Yeah, that's why a couple thousand guys sent broken ARMS mounts to LaRue and got them replaced.
Sounds like a sales gimmick on LaRue's part. I wonder how many were really "broke", and how many were just wore out and/or abused being turned in for new?

ARMS survives on ignorance and government contracts, by having been around a while and getting in when there was no competition.
I would think if ARMS was that bad, and LaRue that good, the contracts would show a shift from one to the other. Is that in fact the case? I havent been following this stuff to closely of late, but how much of LaRues stuff is now under contract and being issued?

faawrenchbndr
11-03-2012, 19:16
Never had an issue like the OP did with any Larue mount. :whistling:

It is what it is what it is! If the OP is happy with an ARMS mount,
great. Seems like this should be an eye opener for his first experience
with an ARMS product. I would be pissed as heJJ!

USMCsilver
11-03-2012, 20:30
I, too, have ARMS mounts. Four to be exact. I also have three of their flip-up sights.

All were purchased over 5 years ago, and all have worked flawlessly.

Sad to hear that they aren't what they used to be.

Outta curiosity -- has GG&G gone to ****, too?

ak103k
11-03-2012, 20:48
Outta curiosity -- has GG&G gone to ****, too?
I have a set of their BUIS and an Aimpoint cantilever mount on my one AR, and its been first rate kit. Its the same vintage as my ARMS stuff though.

My buddy did just get a couple of their Aimpoint mounts last year though, and he seems happy with them so far.

faawrenchbndr
11-04-2012, 05:48
I've never cared for the design of any GG&G products, never used them.

MrMurphy
11-04-2012, 09:50
Hundreds were legitimately broken. Lot of other guys 'broke' theirs intentionally, and stated so when they were sent in. Mark didn't care, but they did keep track of which was which.

LT mounts are now USMC issue and there's a big difference between issued and 'bought privately with unit funds'. Lot of units replace issued stuff with an Impac card purchase.