Winchester Ranger RA556B: Supposed to look like this? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Winchester Ranger RA556B: Supposed to look like this?

Warp
11-05-2012, 12:17
So, is the lead at the tip of the Ranger load (RA556B) supposed to be like this? I've had a lot of bad experiences with terrible QC, and inconsistency, with Ranger pistol ammo, but my understanding was the centerfire rifle ammo from Winchester/Ranger line was still good to go. I don't like how this is inconsistent and some appear lumpy/over flowing. There is a Gold Dot (24455) for comparison. Every single Gold Dot bullet looks exactly the same, and just like the one pictured.

I would think that they are all supposed to look like the one on the far left (or at least that every bullet would look the same). Those others...not exactly confidence inspiring.

I can't help but feel like sticking with the Gold Dots. Speer has never done me wrong, and who doesn't like Gold Dots?

http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g105/austin3161324/Firearms/20121105_124943_zps61a3434e.jpg

cowboy1964
11-05-2012, 13:04
Yuck. JSPs are already known for building up lead on the feed ramp and causing problems. Those Rangers look like they would make the problem much, much, worse, and much more quickly.

Warp
11-05-2012, 13:36
Yuck. JSPs are already known for building up lead on the feed ramp and causing problems. Those Rangers look like they would make the problem much, much, worse, and much more quickly.

From what I have seen the lead doesn't build up for at least 200-300 rounds. I cannot even afford that many rounds of this, let alone that many for firing in on setting/without cleaning.

I have also seen that, supposedly, the more 'premium' loads don't lead the feed ramps as bad as some of the others.

Nonetheless, when I test these at the range this weekend I'll be inspecting the feed ramps closely.

SCmasterblaster
11-05-2012, 16:26