Best loading manual for these loads... [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Best loading manual for these loads...

abq87120
11-07-2012, 07:12
I've seen questions about everything on this forum but those for which loading manual is best.

I have the Lyman 49th. I load 9mm, 40 S&W, 357 Sig, 44 Mag and 30.06. I am also a noob.

Just wondering, is there a consensus on which loading manual is best. Also, I haven't looked but is there reloading software that is periodically updatable?

Dan in ABQ

F106 Fan
11-07-2012, 07:41
I think the consensus is that you need more than one manual and it looks like you are headed that way anyway.

Hornady 8th Edition is nice because it gives a range of loads with corresponding velocities rather than just a min and max.

Speer Reloading Manual #14 is very nice and the introductory sections are outstanding. The problem I have with Speer is that their loads are so much higher than anyone else's.

I don't often use Lyman but Hornady and Speer are right in front of me.

You could add "Modern Reloading" Second Edition if you want to see what Lee recommends.

Alliant Powder and Hodgdon also have both web information and printed manuals

http://www.alliantpowder.com/resources/catalog.aspx
http://hodgdon.com/store/

Hodgdon has an Annual reloading manual that is around $12 but the 2012 version is not available. Watch the site for the 2013 edition.

Accurate Powder also had a downloadable guide:
http://www.accuratepowder.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/01/accurate_load_data_3.5.pdf

I tend to use Hornady but I have all the others as a cross-reference.

For rifle, add Sierra first, then Berger, Nosler and Norma manuals. In fact, for rifle ballistics, add the Sierra Suite V6 as well as the manual. Very nice product.

Richard

Zombie Steve
11-07-2012, 07:42
Lyman is my favorite. Speer 14 is also very useful. Hornady is so-so, Nosler is so-so.