Carry Handle Rail? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Carry Handle Rail?

EOS
11-07-2012, 15:59
I'm sure this has been visited before, but I'm new to GT, I have a Bushmaster M4a2 and have been thinking of mounting some sort of optic on this rifle and I'm not prepared to spend the money on a new upper or reciever. Just wondering what the opinions of some experienced folks on here if the mounting platform proves solid over extended firing sessions and general abuse.

MrMurphy
11-07-2012, 17:54
Basically two options.

Gooseneck rail, which puts a red dot in 'front' of the carry handle but off the handguard.

Aimpoint makes a single slot model, a few others do. Most aren't worth a crap and they were obsolete the instant flattops came to be issued. They exist solely for guys with rifles like yours. It's one of the few workable solutions (i've used one) to getting an Aimpoint or Eotech on an M16A2.

Free-floated handguard, and mounting it on same. If you're primarily a low round count range shooter, this will work. If you're running 500 rounds in a day doing drills, this may not, some optics don't like all the barrel heat (Eotechs have been known to fry doing this on occasion, especially with AKs in a similar mount) coming straight up under the optic.

For a good freefloat handguard I'd actually use, you're nearly spending as much as for an upper.

I'd recommend buying a new upper and having two.

EOS
11-07-2012, 18:37