Is being debt free the new "saving for retirement"? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Is being debt free the new "saving for retirement"?

glockdoc21
11-10-2012, 07:24
I recently started a new job, and I'm having to decide what I'm going to do for retirement and with the $ that's left over at the end of the month. I'm just starting out, and I'm afraid that politically, it's going to be much safer from here forward to be debt free than to have a huge retirement portfolio. I've heard similar concerns from some of my colleagues of similar age. I wonder if the next 30 years will see a change from investing in the stock market to going back to "burying money in the yard" as some of my relatives say.

RonS
11-10-2012, 07:43
If I were starting out again I would make more of an effort to minimize debt. Save like mad, buy cars for cash, be very careful what you invest in, never refinance a home etc. The problem is that inflation is kind of a tax on people who save. You put a hundred dollars in the ground this year and it will buy less each year until it won't be worth the effort to dig it up.

Good luck, I don't envy young people starting out.

Restless28
11-10-2012, 07:46
Wealth preservation seems awfully challenging now. I work with a few guys in their 50s that have been frugal and saved and invested for decades. They are very concerned now.

robertoh
11-10-2012, 08:01
I was able to retire with a modest retirement amount because we didn't have a house payment,car payment, college payment,and not maxed out credit cards.Also have two pensions from companies I worked for over the years and also the SS payment.If anyone is thinking about retiring early with any of the above pay outs they might want to reconcider.

JMS
11-10-2012, 08:07