357 mag question [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : 357 mag question

Chris Brines
11-11-2012, 11:48
Sorry if this is a repeat question, but I'm new to reloading and I noticed something about my 357 mag loads (6.7 grains of Unique (max load), regular small pistol primer, and a 158 grain LSWC), compared to the factory loads from Wal Mart (Remington, Winchester).

The factory loads have MUCH more power, recoil and are much louder. I've never chrono'd my loads, but I'd assume the velocity is much higher, as well as the pressure. Well I shoot 357 mags cause I like a gun that kicks, and one that will put a BIG hole in whatever I shoot (except for paper, obviously).

Would switching to a magnum powder and a magnum primer give me the "kick" I'm looking for?

F106 Fan
11-11-2012, 11:59
You're using 6.7 gr of Unique and Hornady maxes at 5.0 gr while Speer maxes at 6.0 gr. Alliant maxes at 6.0 gr.

All for the 158 gr LSWC...

I don't know where you got your data but you're already running pretty hot for a lead bullet.

You can always go to a jacketed bullet. You won't pick up much velocity but you can dump up to 7.7 gr in the case according to Speer.

Do not trust my typing! Verify each of the numbers above.

Richard

F106 Fan
11-11-2012, 12:01
Given all of the above, are you sure your scale is accurate? Do you have check weights?

Something is off if your loads seem light while factory seem MUCH more powerful.

Richard

ColoCG
11-11-2012, 12:03
Switching to Mag primers alone would only give a slight increase in velocity if any at all. To achieve maximum velocity and power in the .357 you would need to go to a slower burning powder such as 2400, H110/W296. The last 2 powders require magnum primers. All should accomplish what you are after.

Personally I have used a larger dose of Unique with the same bullet that you are using. Always work up your loads slowly.

WiskyT
11-11-2012, 12:17