Trap ammo for 12 gauge [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Trap ammo for 12 gauge

Kentguy
11-11-2012, 17:35
Greetings everyone,

This past summer my son and I started shooting trap and our local range. Now I haven't done this since I was a kid (about the time the last dinosaurs were dying off) :whistling:

Anyway I have a 12 gauge Winchester model 1300, something like this;

http://www.winchesterguns.com/products/catalog/historic-detail.asp?family=012C&mid=512037

I was wondering what ammo would recommend for a couple of guys who are just starting out. We have been using Federal "Target Load" 12 gauge - 2 3/4 Dram Eq. - 1 1/8 oz. shot - 8 shot.

Now this stuff seems to work just fine - It's my aim that is rather rusty! Do you folks have any other recommendation for ammo that you prefer?

Let me know... thanks

jr05
11-11-2012, 19:45
I really enjoy Remington Gun clubs. Keep an eye out at Dick's Sporting Goods or similar and you should be able to get them for under $5 per box.

Nothing wrong with the Federal Top Guns either, I have used a lot of those as well.

I would say shoot whatever is cheap. Practice is going to do a lot more good than ammo. As long as your gun feeds it, it is good to go. Enjoy the new addiction. You should give skeet a try if you have that in your area as well.

dkf
11-11-2012, 20:05
What you are using will work. Experimenting with chokes is a good idea also. Back when I was shooting a lot of trap I loaded my own with 1 1/8oz of of 7 1/2 shot.

Pimp gun
11-11-2012, 20:11
Since your starting out shoot the cheap stuff and most of the time the clubs have some of the best prices. I watch the adds and buy when it's on sale and bulk 5 to 6 dollars a box around here

GIockGuy24
11-11-2012, 21:39
Where I used to shoot, they sold #9 shot, "Trap and Skeet" loads. They also sold #8 shot, "Dove and Quail" loads for much less money and that was all I used.

collim1
11-12-2012, 05:22