G36 Upper on a G30/G30SF Frame - Will this work? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : G36 Upper on a G30/G30SF Frame - Will this work?


DrlSgt
11-12-2012, 09:58
I've heard this will work without any other modifications. Can anyone confirm? Also, will it work on both a G30 AND G30SF?

I just got a G36 recently and sure would love the option of having the thinner slide on a frame that would support more rounds.

Thanks in advance!

-d

mo.glocker
11-12-2012, 10:06
I've heard this will work without any other modifications. Can anyone confirm? Also, will it work on both a G30 AND G30SF?

I just got a G36 recently and sure would love the option of having the thinner slide on a frame that would support more rounds.

Thanks in advance!

-d
yes,i carry the hybrid daily,i use a gen 3-g30 non sf frame:wavey:

DrlSgt
11-12-2012, 11:23
Thank you!

DrlSgt
11-21-2012, 13:23
Ok, I did it. Bought a G30SF frame and 3 10-round mags. Put my G36 slide on it and taking it out to the range for the first time tonight. Will report back after.

One thing I noticed - If I load all 10 rounds in the mags, I have to 'slap' them in to get them to lock in place with the slide forward. Without the slide or with slide to the rear, easily fits.

You experiencing this problem?

Thanks!

PattonT
11-21-2012, 14:44
Typical tightness of new magazines. I can tell you the 30/36 hybrid is the best Glock and Glock doesn't even produce it "yet". I had a G30 and borrowed my buddy's G36 to try it out. I was very pleased.

DrlSgt
11-21-2012, 14:50
Have you had any failures firing this hybrid version? I'm hoping it's as reliable as any other (stock) Glock...

DrlSgt
11-21-2012, 14:58
Any failures/issues to report? Thanks!

Nailz
11-21-2012, 15:45
I have one and have never had an issue in the hundreds of rounds I have put through it so far....

PattonT
11-21-2012, 16:04
As strange as it is I have never heard of a failure with the hybrid.

DrlSgt
11-21-2012, 17:28
As strange as it is I have never heard of a failure with the hybrid.

Me neither. Can't find anything negative on it. Glad to hear others have heard same!

DrlSgt
11-21-2012, 19:09
RANGE REPORT:

Ok, just got back from the range - 2 boxes of WWB and NOT A SINGLE FAILURE! Needless to say... I LOVE THIS GUN!!!

Thinking about doing it? GO FOR IT & ENJOY!

Definitely my new EDC!

Thanks all!

Glock Master
11-21-2012, 20:16
Thanks for the range report.

Goat 36
11-21-2012, 20:22
When I first started researching/testing & evaluating the Glock .45s, I was extremely impressed with the Glock 30 and its phenomenal accuracy and handling for its size.

At the time, though, I was wearing suit and tie to work and wanted something I could conceal in all scenarios/all attire, etc., so I went with the Glock 36.

Though I've had no regrets with the 36, it's not as easily accurate or easily handled as the 30. Small price to pay for an excellent conceal carry .45 auto in the G36-in my opinion.

I have always found the 10mm to be very intriguing and toyed with the idea of a G29 or G20.

Well, when I heard that the G29/G36 hybrid was equal to the G30/G36 hybrid as far as the G30 or G29 lower/receiver/frame is concerned, I took a gamble and picked up a G29 to test out the theory.

I am very happy with the results and now have one pistol that, with the addition of a G30 mag and Lonewolf 10mm to .40 conversion barrel, fires .40 cal., 10mm and .45 very well. (This will also accept the fullsize G21 and G20 mags-and can also be made to fire .357 sig with the proper conversion barrel and additional magazine.)

*You should have no problems at all with your G30/G36 hybrid. There is rumor that some Glock representatives actually carry the 'Hybrid' as their everyday carry gun and have repeatedly conveyed to Glock all the customer sentiment to build and offer an 'official' model that encompasses all the great attributes of the combined G30 lower and G36 upper. (G30 frame and G36 slide assembly)

If you ask me, Glock obviously realizes that there is more money to be made in selling 'Both' models to achieve the increasingly popular 'Hybrid.' So, whether they ever come out with an 'official' model of the sort is.....probably unlikely.

Be safe and Happy Shooting.

Rick305
11-21-2012, 21:01
Yes.....

Police Marksman
11-21-2012, 22:52
I have confirmed with Glock the new model 30S will be released at the 2013 Shot Show in January. It will have the 36 slide on a G30 gen 3 frame. Below is a photo of the 30S

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=429140740479707&set=a.218238364903280.52011.118418

mo.glocker
11-21-2012, 23:39
I have confirmed with Glock the new model 30S will be released at the 2013 Shot Show in January. It will have the 36 slide on a G30 gen 3 frame. Below is a photo of the 30S

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=429140740479707&set=a.218238364903280.52011.118418
i have called 3 times talked to 3 diff. guys and they act like im from mars?,and why wouldnt they use the gen 4 frame and bypass the regular-sf frame deboggle.:dunno:

PattonT
11-22-2012, 00:23
i have called 3 times talked to 3 diff. guys and they act like im from mars?,and why wouldnt they use the gen 4 frame and bypass the regular-sf frame deboggle.:dunno:

The only reason I could see is because they are not making G36 Gen4 yet so they don't have half of the guns parts.

mo.glocker
11-22-2012, 00:32
The only reason I could see is because they are not making G36 Gen4 yet so they don't have half of the guns parts.
they have the uppers,and they have the gen4 30 frame.why would they make a 30s-sf and 30s reg frame,i dont believe it at all.:upeyes:

JTSmith
11-22-2012, 00:40
I tried assembling the hybrid combo and the gun would not RTB without me giving it a nudge. It felt way too tight compared to any other Glock I've handled. I actually tried my 36 slide on my 30 and my 29SF with the exact same results. And just so you know, all 3 of these guns are flawless in their original configuration.

I think my experience was just an anomaly, as everyone else seems to have good luck with it. Either way, I WANT a factory 30S!

mo.glocker
11-22-2012, 00:46
I tried assembling the hybrid combo and the gun would not RTB without me giving it a nudge. It felt way too tight compared to any other Glock I've handled. I actually tried my 36 slide on my 30 and my 29SF with the exact same results. And just so you know, all 3 of these guns are flawless in their original configuration.

I think my experience was just an anomaly, as everyone else seems to have good luck with it. Either way, I WANT a factory 30S!
the inside dims are the same on the 30 and the 36 slide.

WinterWizard
11-22-2012, 02:03
This thread hasn't come up about 100 times in the past year. Does anyone use the search function?

Goat 36
11-22-2012, 08:08
It may not be a concern for some, but I believe you cannot use the grip extensions for using the fullsize mags in the 30sf. Only with the standard 30 frames. The extension piece that slides over the fullsize mag does not match up to the bottom of the grip properly.

If I'm wrong about that, please correct me.

Certainly something to consider.

Police Marksman
11-22-2012, 10:07
they have the uppers,and they have the gen4 30 frame.why would they make a 30s-sf and 30s reg frame,i dont believe it at all.:upeyes:

I have two sources from Glock that have said the 30S will be released at Shot Show. I do not think a G30 Gen 4 frame will work with the standard 36 slide. They have different recoil springs.

shakazulu12
11-22-2012, 11:42
Someone on the forum in the past week or two already posted that they are just waiting the 10 day period before they can pick theirs up.

DrlSgt
11-22-2012, 13:19
Someone on the forum in the past week or two already posted that they are just waiting the 10 day period before they can pick theirs up.

I would love to know where (s)he ordered it from. It's not even advertised as available on the Glock site... Nor Glockmeister.com nor Glockstore.com.

I'd be interested :cool:

mo.glocker
11-22-2012, 14:23
I have two sources from Glock that have said the 30S will be released at Shot Show. I do not think a G30 Gen 4 frame will work with the standard 36 slide. They have different recoil springs.
i live in st.louis and last year at the nra show the kid at the glock booth had a 30 and 36 on display,i ask him if he ever mixed the 2 and he went ahead and assem.the hybrid.he told me (ya glock is actually thinking about making this)his exact words.id like to have a numbers matching hybrid,but even more id rather just buy a glock 29,w/conversion barrels you have a lot of caliber choices.

Deployment Solu
11-22-2012, 19:00
I have a hybrid that i have carried for about two years and put thousands of rounds through without a hiccup. It is real and it does work!!!!

mo.glocker
11-22-2012, 19:50
I have a hybrid that i have carried for about two years and put thousands of rounds through without a hiccup. It is real and it does work!!!!
i have one too,but would love to have a factory numbers matching hybrid-this is my ccw-great pistol

ghostrider88
11-23-2012, 14:52
yes it works

Catswold
01-06-2013, 10:11
Buds has a listing for them, last posted price $627, but no pics yet. Probably not available yet.

Rick305
01-07-2013, 02:44
Buds has a listing for them, last posted price $627, but no pics yet. Probably not available yet.

I don't see it

Police Marksman
01-07-2013, 18:07
I don't see it

Take a look here!
www.budsgunshop.com/catalog/product_info.php/products_id/83988/Glock+G30S+45+10RD+FS

Vandalozz
02-05-2013, 13:15
Anyone know where i can buy a G36 upper? seems to be a white elephant?

TX58
02-06-2013, 10:21
It may not be a concern for some, but I believe you cannot use the grip extensions for using the fullsize mags in the 30sf. Only with the standard 30 frames. The extension piece that slides over the fullsize mag does not match up to the bottom of the grip properly.

If I'm wrong about that, please correct me.

Certainly something to consider.

Goat36: I have a Glock 36/30 hybrid. The frame is a 30sf and yes, the A&E mag spacer does work on the Glock 30sf using the Glock 21 magazine. I seldom use it and carry it as my second mag, but it does work.

jdpst20
02-06-2013, 16:15
Yeah like others have said It totally works. My friend has a 30sf and I have a 36. We did the swap and put about 100 rounds through it with no issues.

Once I get a few other things for the G36 I want I'm going to probably buy a G30 Frame complete to I can have 2 guns when ever I want to.

WinterWizard
02-06-2013, 16:44
>>>>>

legalsten
02-06-2013, 19:26
I bought a 36 last week and traded for my old 30 I bought new years ago. I guess I know what I will be carrying .

intenseneal
02-07-2013, 14:15
Glock does make a stock G30 G36 hybrid. It is called the G30S it has the G30SF frame with the G36 slide. It is on the Glock website. The G30S uses a Gen 3 frame

SCmasterblaster
02-07-2013, 19:48
Why do it? What is wrong with the G30 upper?

legalsten
02-08-2013, 07:42
Because the 30 will fit in the same holster as the 36 with the slide from the 36. Will not fit as a standard 30 . I know it doesnt seem like much but the extra width matters on the holster I have . I have both so I might as well get the extra rounds.

TX58
02-08-2013, 09:25
Why do it? What is wrong with the G30 upper?

In addition to what legalsten said about the hybrid now being able to fit a Glock 19/23 holster, thereby allowing you to "just" keep one holster handy, it also allows you to to conceal easier, it's lighter, and it just (to me) seens to balance better. And, if course you get to keep the tactical rail, and the ability to use 9, 10 or thirteen round magazines from the Glock 30sf frame. I've had mine for two years, and fred over 1400 rounds of ball and various hollow points through it, without it ever failing to feed, fire or function (eject). It's basicly the gun Glock just "realized" we needed in the form of the Glock 30s. And, it's the most accurate gun I own. I have a witnessed 1 3/4 inch five shot group at 25 yards over a sand bag rest. Suprisingly, it was Remmington 180 grain FMJ FP - with the silver caseing. Awesome gun. I used to be a .40 fan, now I am a "hybrid" fan (.45).

GRT45
02-08-2013, 11:01
Potential buyers and current owners of the G30S 45ACP, be aware that it will not fit all holsters designed for a G19/G23.


Mas Ayoob: "It's yes, no, and maybe, depending on the holster. While the slide is thinner like a G19, it still has the wide G30 frame. I found the 30S would not go into one Kydex rig for the 19 at all...it could be forced into a Sport/Combat beltslide holster from Glock, but was tighter than I liked...and was a snug fit in one brand of IWB for the standard size Glocks. I found myself carrying it in a regular G30 size holster, which worked fine."

Ref: http://glocktalk.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1465498

bigcix
02-08-2013, 19:27
I just wish glock would make a Gen 4 36

mbsigman
02-13-2013, 09:49
Anyone know where i can buy a G36 upper? seems to be a white elephant?

I have searched high and low and cannot find anyone who sells a G36 slide. Does anyone out there know where I can get a G36 slide?

Thanks

Mike

SCmasterblaster
02-13-2013, 10:26
I don't get it. What is wrong with the G30 that it needs a different slide assy?

rkb58
02-13-2013, 12:18
I have a 30S. Great shooter !

rkb58
02-13-2013, 12:30
http://i1289.photobucket.com/albums/...k/P1120180.jpg

http://i1289.photobucket.com/albums/...k/P1120174.jpg

http://i1289.photobucket.com/albums/...k/P1120182.jpg

mbsigman
02-15-2013, 00:17
I have searched high and low and cannot find anyone who sells a G36 slide. Does anyone out there know where I can get a G36 slide?

Thanks

Mike


Anyone??

Kilo Sierra
02-15-2013, 13:22
Anyone??

I have been on the prowl for the same about 6 months now, for a local LEO who wants it for a UC piece.

Zero results...Including Glock with the caveat that it would/could be done with a purchase request on Agency letterhead. The answer was no...period.

With the release of the 30S I see why.

ks

SGT67
02-17-2013, 14:50
Glockmeister sells uppers but they are out of stock\back ordered.

SGT67
02-17-2013, 14:52
My G30S fits in my Galco jackass shoulder holster but the retention strap wont reach the snap, I think because the front of the trigger guard is wider than the standard G30.