new to reloading need some help [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : new to reloading need some help

reelnative
11-17-2012, 19:47
Hi im new to the reloading game so i need to start asking the stupid questions first haha i know most of you guys dont like the lee pro 1000 from what ive seen in here but its all i could get, my first q is what is a good powder, i will be loading 45acp and have bought 1000 starline brass so far and am going to get 5000 cci 300 primers, ive been looking at the win 231 powder is it ok for 45acp also i found 8lbs for 120.00 is that a good price, is there better powders for the 45acp, i will want to load so normal 185 and 230gr rounds in the 850fps range and also might try to work some up to the 1000 1100 range, any replys would be great thanks

F106 Fan
11-17-2012, 20:19
You should have some loading manuals that will give you this information.

You can go to the Hodgdon site and use their database to get load data. Your highest velocities are going to be a problem for 231 powder.

http://data.hodgdon.com/cartridge_load.asp

Alliant also has a database but I don't use it very much:

http://www.alliantpowder.com/reloaders/default.aspx

I hope you plan to load for quite a while before you start heading toward +P pressure and velocity.

Richard

Kwesi
11-17-2012, 22:34
I would start with 1# until you confirm your choice of favorite powders. I personally like Power Pistol for 9mm and 10mm. It also works really good for 45 ACP but I don't shoot competition. BTW: I would also research how well the powder meters. Some are flakes that require hand weighing each charge (not for me) while others are like sugar sand and are great like Power Pistol, etc.

reelnative
11-18-2012, 00:53