Newbie 10mm owner needs advice pleasr [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Newbie 10mm owner needs advice pleasr

chuck11976
11-21-2012, 17:37
I am about to start reloading for my 10mm G20. I have never reloaded before so I am doing my research diligently. Many of you here have been reloading for a long time and have tons of experience with it but me being a complete virgin to reloading, I would just like to have some advice for some safe yet 10mm worthy loads for my g20. I am about to place my order with Grafs for some Berry plated 155gr bullets and Starline brass with standard CCI primers and Accurate #9. Is this a good combo? Can I get SAFE yet powerful loads with this setup using the Lee Breechlock system? As you can see, I'm anxious to get started but naturally slightly nervous since I've never done this before. I love my G20 more than any other Glocks I've ever owned and carry it daily. Please give me some advice, from a beginners perspective, on how I can achieve good, safe, decently powerful loads with the items I've described above. With much practice, I'm sure I'll get to know all this in time and get to the point where I too will be able to experiment with different recipes. For now, I want to be safe but not shoot glorified 40 rounds either. Any help would be appreciated.

klmmicro
11-21-2012, 17:56
Welcome to the wonderful world of reloading!

You need to check the published data in your reloading manual and build a test load 10% below max. Use the components that match the published load. Even at 10% below max, you will still be equal to standard 40 SW loads, so it will have plenty of power.

It is unwise to start hot-rodding loads when you are new to the art. I am sure that you can produce safe loads with the components you are listing. Without some reloading background though, you can run into dangerous trouble rather quickly when starting to mix and match random components. This is not something that you should rush into.