Stance/grip with slings [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Stance/grip with slings

tower59
11-21-2012, 22:07
Hey, gang! Magpul teaches to hold your arms in tight to your body core when gripping the AR, specifically avoiding extending your trigger finger side elbow out (aka "chicken-winging). However, if you use a two point sling and "sling-up," you can extend your non-trigger elbow out to engage the sling, stabilizing your weapon and tightening your groups. Costa & Haley both recommend a single point sling. Many others recommend a two-point sling.

I am a novice AR shooter (and shoot lefty) and am trying to learn. I think I'm sold on a two-point sling due to its better ability to keep the weapon close and not interfere while running or doing other things with both hands. So, if I'm to use a two point sling, what's the best way to learn to grip and stand with the rifle? Sling up to stabilize the shot, or keep the elbows in tight to avoid "chicken-winging?" Thanks for the suggestions!

ithaca_deerslayer
11-21-2012, 22:09
Great topic. Hope someone has some good youtube links, too :)

WayaX
11-21-2012, 22:16
Hey, gang! Magpul teaches to hold your arms in tight to your body core when gripping the AR, specifically avoiding extending your trigger finger side elbow out (aka "chicken-winging). However, if you use a two point sling and "sling-up," you can extend your non-trigger elbow out to engage the sling, stabilizing your weapon and tightening your groups. Costa & Haley both recommend a single point sling. Many others recommend a two-point sling.