What hand guard for M&P15 OR? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : What hand guard for M&P15 OR?

Robreynolds
11-22-2012, 23:27
I bought a M&P15 OR a few months back and I'm thinking I would like to replace the round hand guard with a quad rail. I seen lots of choices in plastic and metal. I want to get the Magpul MBUS flip-ups to go along with my Tru-Glo red dot but I've been told not to put them on the gas block. What would be my best choice that is not too expensive and can I go with a longer rail or am I stuck with the same length as what is on there now because of the gas block?

Cadcom
11-22-2012, 23:32
I'm no expert but I think I've seen a few longer rails made with cutouts for the gas block.

9mmmountaineer
11-23-2012, 10:08
I'm having the same issue and I'll be following this post. I love the Troy alpha rail but $170 is out of my range for a 13" hand guard. I'm a bit cheap so anything remotely close to the alpha rail for less I'm interested in.

Sorry op not trying to jack your thread but my search for cheap sights all lean towards the MBUS sights. Was gonna jump on primary Arms deal on Troy flip ups but they only have the rear for $80 and once again $200 for sights is a little rich for my blood.

Posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire (http://www.outdoorhub.com/mobile/)

bmoore
11-23-2012, 10:47
It would be hard to beat a Daniel Defense rail. If you want extension beyond your gas block nothing is going to be cheap.

M&P15T
11-23-2012, 10:48
Correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe the OR has a picatinny railed flat FSB that allows a BUIS to be mounted, right?

If so, it won't fit under any quad rail, so if you want a rail to cover up your gas-black/sight base, you will need to switch to a low-pro gas block, and then you can get into either a Daniel Defense or Troy quad rail.