Newbie question [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question

chuck11976
11-30-2012, 11:51
I just finished reloading my very first 100 cartridges of 10mm. I am brand new to reloading so this was actually my first reloading ever. I've been reading the forums and studying my manuals for quite a while and I finally felt comfortable to go ahead and dive in, so I did. I bought the Lee 50th Anniversary kit and the 10mm dies including the factory crimp die. After some fiddling, I got all my dies dialed in just right and did a few dummy loads with no powder or primer. Checked for my OAL, crimp, etc. All looked good so I went for it. I checked every single powder charge for each round and they were all within .2gr of where I wanted to be. Okay, so here's my load data. I used Berry's copper plated 155gr bullets, CCI 300 primers, Starline brass, and Accurate #9 powder. According to Modern Reloading second edition data, starting grains are 13.5 grains of #9 for 1206 fps with an OAL of 1.260. I loaded 50 rounds with 13.2-13.5 and the next 50 with 13.8-14.1. Would these loads be okay? And now the big question.... 4 out of the 100 rounds measure BELOW 1.260 OAL. These 4 measure between 1.256-1.259. Are they safe at these OAL's? I know I'm probably being a bit too paranoid but I'm a virgin reloader here and I just wanna be safe before I go experimenting or even deviate from book specs. Any info or advice would be greatly appreciated.

WeeWilly
11-30-2012, 12:00
The OAL is fine, although when you see an OAL that is part of a published load, that is meant to be a minimum OAL. In the case of your AA#9, going slightly under won't make a difference.