Buying a Rifle this weekend need some advice [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Buying a Rifle this weekend need some advice

JDennis
12-04-2012, 23:07
I currently own a old .22lr bolt action and built a dedicated ar-15 based .22lr for my fun gun. I am wanting to pick up a rifle this weekend to keep around for nephews to target shoot and for ground hogs. I am torn between a stainless marlin 60 or a ruger take down .22lr. I have zero experience with the marlin or ruger 10/22. The Marlin is about 65.00 cheaper than the ruger since the ruger is the TD model which isn't a huge deal. But if I go ruger I would prefer the take down since its available. Doing my net "research" it seams to be the chevy/ford debate. If i wanted to own both in the rifles like I currently do the cars, I would get both rifles but only need one. What would be the way the go? Both seem reliable but really want something that can have thousands and thousands of rounds through it and hold up like my old Winchester 52B.

JimBianchi
12-04-2012, 23:53
I vote 1022.

Infinite possibilities.

And no matter how many rounds you shoot, it will last several lifetimes.

slainer
12-05-2012, 10:06
Bought a Marlin 60 last year.. Sold it this year!! Going with a 10/22 next week! No comparison! Infinite add ons! Better quality!
Slainer

vafish
12-06-2012, 08:42
I prefer the model 60 if you are not planning on modifying it. ( and why would you modify the takedown version?)

Marlin also makes a takedown semiauto. It is called the papoose or model 70PSS

posted from my stupid smart phone, please excuse any spelling mistakes.

21Brutus
12-06-2012, 09:13
I have the Marlin 60 but would go with the 10/22 take down myself...too many additional things can be done if you are so inclined in the future.

Arvinator
12-06-2012, 09:51