My new chess computer project! [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : My new chess computer project!


GasTurbine
12-06-2012, 07:51
HP DL740 Server w/8 Intel Dual Core Xeon Processors (total of 16 cores) @ 2.7Ghz ea. 20Gb RAM and a 76Gb SCSI hard drive. OS will be a cut down version of Windows Sever 2003.

Chess engine will be Houdini 3.0 Pro, designed specifically for multiprocessor machines. Calculations put the number crunching monster at over 10,000 kN/s making an ELO of over 3100...over 300 points stronger than IBMs Deep Blue chess computer!

http://www.n8wct.com/web/dl_740_2.jpg


It's name? Garry of course.

http://www.n8wct.com/web/dl_740_garry.JPG

More pix as the project proceeds.

MtBaldy
12-06-2012, 08:32
That's cool and all but what are you going to do with it? I mean, Shredder on my cell phone beats me like a cheap drum set without even breaking a sweat. You did mean IBM, right?

Detectorist
12-06-2012, 08:45
I've got Fritz13 on my computer. How about a match between the two engines?

My PC Intel 3.08 Ghz, 3 GB ram. Single core.

cesaros
12-06-2012, 08:56
I bet youtube videos will load super fast on that thing

GasTurbine
12-06-2012, 08:56
Im a tourney player of many years. Chess computers can aid in analysis, blunder checking, and deep datbase searches, but to play one, as you say, is almost worthless with any attributes of winning...unless you happen to be that 0.001% top player in the world. :supergrin:

We can also do engine matches, and load previous historic (read Fischer and Kasparov) games, and watch as the computer "grades" the moves.

But the main reason...is because we can. I work in IT, and love to push CPUs and see large number-crunching tasks...cool air going in, hot air coming out. Its also going to be a fun office project as we hope to have it done for our X-mas party.

Just seems like fun, thats all.

Regards.

GasTurbine
12-06-2012, 09:02
I've got Fritz13 on my computer. How about a match between the two engines?

My PC Intel 3.08 Ghz, 3 GB ram. Single core.

In addition to few Houdini UCI engines, weve got Fritz 5, 8, and 12 engines, Rybka's 1.0 and 1.0c, plus a few more. We definitely plan on doing some engine matches...Ill hit ya up when we are ready.

MtBaldy
12-06-2012, 13:15
In addition to few Houdini UCI engines, weve got Fritz 5, 8, and 12 engines, Rybka's 1.0 and 1.0c, plus a few more. We definitely plan on doing some engine matches...Ill hit ya up when we are ready.

I've got 64 bit Fritz 12 on a Toshiba laptop with a 2.20 Ghz Core i7 with 6 gigs of ram if you want to match with it.

PBCounty
12-06-2012, 13:33
You guys are going to play chess during your office party?

ryanm
12-06-2012, 14:40
I love a good multi-socket server being reused!

RenoF250
12-06-2012, 15:32
You guys are going to play chess during your office party?

They are wild and crazy guys.

Steve Martin: Wild & Crazy Guys - YouTube

MikeG22
12-06-2012, 15:52
You guys are going to play chess during your office party?

Agreed! :dunno::dunno:

sappy13
12-06-2012, 20:36
All i can say is that is awesome. Is that one that you just replaced for a client and picked up on the cheap? Thats how we got our last server. Didnt have anywhere near the specs of that guy thou

bobtheelf
12-06-2012, 21:54
I became really disillusioned with computer chess after reading a couple of articles detailing how chess had basically been "solved" for up to 4 or 5 pieces left on each side in any legal configuration on the board. A computer playing perfectly pretty much cannot lose.

TK-421
12-06-2012, 22:02
It sounds like it would be fun to build. I wish I had that kind of money to spend on those parts.

czsmithGT
12-06-2012, 22:56
If you plug in 8 millions of Gbytes of RAM it will become self aware. That should happen at about 2:14AM August 29, 2029.

Just make sure that it is used for human progress, not for catastrophic aims

Detectorist
12-06-2012, 23:05
Im a tourney player of many years.


You are? Do you have a USCF rating?

GasTurbine
12-07-2012, 05:46
All i can say is that is awesome. Is that one that you just replaced for a client and picked up on the cheap? Thats how we got our last server. Didnt have anywhere near the specs of that guy thou

Yes. Stole it for $100.

GasTurbine
12-07-2012, 05:47
You are? Do you have a USCF rating?

Yes, 1816.

GasTurbine
12-07-2012, 05:51
It sounds like it would be fun to build. I wish I had that kind of money to spend on those parts.

I paid $100 for the box, with no memory, and found 20Gb on eBay for $75. OS, monitor, keyboard, mouse are office "donations" if you will. :supergrin:

airmotive
12-07-2012, 06:02
What did that box cost when new?

GasTurbine
12-07-2012, 06:10
What did that box cost when new?

About $3000 5 years ago.

GasTurbine
12-07-2012, 06:11
Okay, the office gave me a project table for the beast. RAM will be going in as soon as in hand.

http://www.n8wct.com/web/garry_table.JPG

ithaca_deerslayer
12-07-2012, 06:27
Cool project.

Can it be forced into a checkmate or will that be unpossible?

GasTurbine
12-07-2012, 06:39
Cool project.

Can it be forced into a checkmate or will that be unpossible?

You can dumb it down to any level to beat it. You can also restrict its thinking time to make it less strong, but left on STC (40 moves per 2 hours) it will beat 99.9999% of all chess players on the planet.

GasTurbine
12-07-2012, 06:40
You guys are going to play chess during your office party?

Every year. :supergrin:

Tvov
12-07-2012, 06:43
Okay, the office gave me a project table for the beast. RAM will be going in as soon as in hand.


:thumbsup:

Cool stuff. Geekness is strong in this one.

GasTurbine
12-17-2012, 09:38
Finished!

Heres is the beast booting up, showing the 32 gigs of RAM, and all 8 processors;

http://www.n8wct.com/craigslist/hp/dl_740_6.JPG


Here it is starting the GUI;

http://www.n8wct.com/craigslist/hp/dl_740_9.JPG


After we activated the engine, here are all 8 processors running at 100% (its kicking out some heat now!);

http://www.n8wct.com/craigslist/hp/dl_740_11.JPG


And here is the monster crunching the numbers. The software see all 8 processor (circled in red), has reached a ply depth of 24 (circled in yellow) in just over 11 minutes! And it calculating plys at 2580 kN/s (circled in green), or over 5 million moves a second!

http://www.n8wct.com/craigslist/hp/dl_740_10.JPG

Detectorist
12-17-2012, 09:41
My chess computer can beat your chess computer. Take that!

:tongueout:

GasTurbine
12-17-2012, 10:10
My chess computer can beat your chess computer. Take that!

:tongueout:

Bring it!

PBCounty
12-17-2012, 10:20
Someone break out the soda and chips...gonna be a hell of a party! (sorry man, gotta rag you a little on that - it's required)

F14Scott
12-17-2012, 10:59
I didn't even know Gary played chess...
http://images1.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20100922010236/spongebob/images/8/81/Gary_the_Snail.svg

MtBaldy
12-17-2012, 11:09
Bring it!

Okay! Need to decide on a format. I suggest by PM at 24 hours, maximum, per move. Post updated positions here when something interesting happens. Oh, and here's Fritz 12 on the same position to a depth of 22 ply. I stopped here because it took 45 minutes to get this far and it had decided on the same move (rook x h5).

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b20/wscott52/Fritz12_zps2bc7d8e6.jpg

devildog2067
12-17-2012, 11:13
That's cool and all but what are you going to do with it?

Run for president of Russia, obviously.

GasTurbine
12-18-2012, 07:23
Okay! Need to decide on a format. I suggest by PM at 24 hours, maximum, per move. Post updated positions here when something interesting happens.

1. e4...

MtBaldy
12-19-2012, 16:46
Deleted.

Oops. It appears I wasn't playing Dion. We're playing now so may have an update soon.

GasTurbine
12-20-2012, 04:44
We have a game going. Here is the position after Fritz 12's 7th move:

Game with who? Not my box.

Also, your screen shots are too small...cant make out any of the data.

GasTurbine
12-20-2012, 06:53
The game is on! Houdini 3.0 pro 32 bit vs. Fritz 12. Will share as the game progresses.

686Owner
12-20-2012, 07:18
I'm so bad at chess a computer making completely random moves would beat me.

MtBaldy
12-20-2012, 07:59
Since Dion hasn't moved in a while and I'm going to have to leave the house soon, I'll post this update:

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b20/wscott52/DionvsFritz12_zps9870e88d.jpg

It appears either Dion doesn't have an opening book or has a very adventurous one. Or maybe his third move was designed to take Fritz out of opening book which it has done. Generally bringing the Queen out that early is considered a bad thing because white loses tempo retreating her. Of course with the kind of number crunching power Dion brings to the table I'm sure it will be able to make up the lost time.

GasTurbine
12-20-2012, 08:40
Dion doesn't have an opening book or has a very adventurous one.

For those new to the thread, "Dion" is being played by my chess computer w/Houdini Pro 3 and does not use an opening book, however, the opening is known as Sicilian/Smith-Morra Gambit. "WScott" is Fritz 12...hardware unknown.

John Rambo
12-20-2012, 08:46
Scrap the project, use it to host porn instead.

GasTurbine
12-20-2012, 08:53
Heres a chess puzzle for you guys...white to move and win. That does NOT mean in one move, rather force a win from this position. see if you can figure it out without a computer.

http://www.n8wct.com/web/chess_puzzle/under_1.jpg

MtBaldy
12-20-2012, 08:59
For those new to the thread, "Dion" is being played by my chess computer w/Houdini Pro 3 and does not use an opening book, however, the opening is known as Sicilian/Smith-Morra Gambit. "WScott" is Fritz 12...hardware unknown.

It's in an earlier post:


64 bit Fritz 12 on a Toshiba laptop with a 2.20 Ghz Core i7 with 6 gigs of ram if you want to match with it.


I have Fritz set on Infinite Analysis and just take the move when it has survived through several ply.

MtBaldy
12-23-2012, 17:12
After 14 moves this is the position:

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b20/wscott52/DionvsFritz12_zpsf20eefab.jpg

Which was reached with these moves:

1.e4 c5
2.d4 cxd4
3.Qxd4 Nc6
4.Qd3 e6
5.Nc3 Nf6
6.Nf3 Qb6
7.a3 Ng4
8.Nd1 Bc5
9.Qd2 d5
10.exd5 exd5
11.b4 Be7
12.h3 Nf6
13.Bb2 O-O
14.Bd3 Ne4 *

In the last few moves Fritz12 has slowly reevaluated the position and now gives white a slight advantage. I think it's anyone's game but then I'm not a 2800 player.

GasTurbine
12-26-2012, 07:06
White being me...

GasTurbine
01-07-2013, 13:02
Color: White/ Black
Program: Houdini Pro 3/ Fritz 12
Architecture: 32 bit/ 64 bit
OS: MS Server 2003/ MS Windows 7
CPU(s): Intel Xeon/ Intel Core i7
Speed: 2.70 GHz/ 2.20 GHz
Cores: 8/ 4
RAM: 32 Gb/ 6 Gb

We played via "Chess my Message" which is just another online hosting site.

Time control was set at the lowest at 2 days per move, but I dont think either of us went over 24 hours, and I normally let my computer "think" for about 8-10 minutes. PGN results are below;

[Round "0"]
[White "Gasturbine"]
[Black "MtBaldy"]
[Result "*"]
1.e4 c5
2.d4 cxd4
3.Qxd4 Nc6
4.Qd3 e6
5.Nc3 Nf6
6.Nf3 Qb6
7.a3 Ng4
8.Nd1 Bc5
9.Qd2 d5
10.exd5 exd5
11.b4 Be7
12.h3 Nf6
13.Bb2 O-O
14.Bd3 Ne4
15.Qe3 f5
16.O-O Be6
17.Re1 g6
18.Qe2 Bf6 *Houdini considered this move somewhat weak, and goes up a full point.
http://www.n8wct.com/web/chess%20game/after_move_18.JPG
19.Bxf6 Rxf6
20.c4 dxc4
21.Bxe4 fxe4
22.Qxe4 a5
23.Ne3 axb4
24.axb4 Rxa1
25.Rxa1 Qb5 *Houdini considered this move somewhat weak, and goes up two points.
http://www.n8wct.com/web/chess%20game/after_move_25.JPG
26.Rd1 Kg7
27.Nd4 Qe5
28.Nxe6+ Qxe6
29.Qc2 Nxb4? Houdini considered this move as poor, and goes up 6 points even tho down in material.
http://www.n8wct.com/web/chess%20game/after_move_29.JPG
30.Qc3 Nd3
31.Ng4 b5
32.Ra1 g5
33.Qd4 Kg6
34.Nxf6 Qxf6 From here, white is substantially ahead, and finishes off the two passed pawns.
35.Qa7 Nc5
36.Qa8 Qe6
37.Ra7 c3
38.Qh8 Nd7
39.Qxc3 Nf6
40.Rb7 Qc4
41.Qb2 Qe6
42.Qc2+ Kh6
43.Rxb5 Qd7 Black can not fend off the attack. Houdini says its up 16 full points.
44.Qc5 Qd1+
45.Kh2 Black resigns.
http://www.n8wct.com/web/chess%20game/after_move_45.JPG

Good game, and a fun exercise, thanks MtBaldy!.

Detectorist
01-07-2013, 13:47
Heres a chess puzzle for you guys...white to move and win. That does NOT mean in one move, rather force a win from this position. see if you can figure it out without a computer.

http://www.n8wct.com/web/chess_puzzle/under_1.jpg

1.Rc8+......Rxc8
2.Qxa7+....Kxa7
3. Pxc8(N)+

MtBaldy
01-07-2013, 13:52
Good game, and a fun exercise, thanks MtBaldy!.

Yep, thank you. It's nice to see Fritz squashed like a bug because that's what he usually does to me unless I lobotomize him.

Detectorist
01-07-2013, 15:18
Heres a chess puzzle for you guys...white to move and win. That does NOT mean in one move, rather force a win from this position. see if you can figure it out without a computer.

http://www.n8wct.com/web/chess_puzzle/under_1.jpg

1.Rc8+......Rxc8
2.Qxa7+....Kxa7
3. Pxc8(N)+

Glock20 10mm
01-07-2013, 15:42
If you are looking for trim, fast and powerful, why are you using Windows? FreeBSD would be a better fit, and you can really trim it down.

dango
01-07-2013, 16:07
Suggestion-Make one with "Audio-insults" , nim-rod , really Dumn move Pal , So you did make it passed the 8th grade , ETC..

Real money maker ifin they get mad , smash it and have to buy another......! Just good bidness...........! :supergrin:

dango
01-07-2013, 16:28
My chess computer can beat your chess computer. Take that!

:tongueout:

Check and MATE......! :tongueout:

Detectorist
01-07-2013, 16:38
If you are looking for trim, fast and powerful, why are you using Windows? FreeBSD would be a better fit, and you can really trim it down.

Better yet, DOS.

Detectorist
01-07-2013, 16:43
Yep, thank you. It's nice to see Fritz squashed like a bug because that's what he usually does to me unless I lobotomize him.

1.d4

Reply if you dare.

Spiffums
01-07-2013, 17:03
I call for a ban! No one NEEDS 16 CPUs!!!!

Nice hardware :D!

Detectorist
01-07-2013, 18:10
I call for a ban! No one NEEDS 16 CPUs!!!!

Nice hardware :D!

Yes, we must ban high capacity motherboards. Limit them to 4 CPUs.

For the children, of course.

GasTurbine
01-08-2013, 08:07
If you are looking for trim, fast and powerful, why are you using Windows?

Because these are Windows only programs. Besides, Windows Server can easily be dumbed down as well.

John Rambo
01-08-2013, 08:11
Because these are Windows only programs. Besides, Windows Server can easily be dumbed down as well.

Not really.

FreeBSD is a hell of an OS if you want trim.

GasTurbine
01-08-2013, 09:15
Not really.

Yes, really. Weve got just a few processes running on the box. Windows Server is *MUCH* different than other Windows OSs.

MtBaldy
01-08-2013, 09:54
1.d4

Reply if you dare.

1)....d5

But I suggest we take it to www.chessbymessage.com as GasTurbine and I did.

Oh, and you do understand you'll be playing Fritz12 right?

Sign up and challenge WScott.

John Rambo
01-08-2013, 11:07
Yes, really. Weve got just a few processes running on the box. Windows Server is *MUCH* different than other Windows OSs.

Yes. I might have seen a Windows Server box....once...maybe twice. :wavey:

FreeBSD or a Linux distro (with the possible exception of something like Ubuntu or other kiddie models) of your choosing is more than a little bit leaner.