Colt or BCM...First AR Question [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Colt or BCM...First AR Question

MCA
12-06-2012, 20:45
Greetings and thank you, in advance, for your experiences and expertise!
I have researched this, for what seems like months, until my eyes blur and now I just have to ask.
While proficient in pistols (Glocks) and shotguns (Benelli) I am relatively new to the realm of “Black Rifles” and am ready to purchase one. With my budget I have narrowed down my choices to either a BCM Mod 0, BCM Mod 2, Colt 6920 or a Colt 6940. I would like to purchase a complete rifle rather than build or assemble one due to my inexperience with this platform and a possible manufacturer warranty but maybe I am making this too big of an issue?
What I want to do with it:
1. HD
2. Range work
3. Work my way up to some fun 3-gun type and/or other competitions
4. I will be shooting once per week
What I would put on it:
1. Keep it simple…light, sling and optic after mastering the irons.
What my goal would be:
1. Become proficient+ with the platform and…
2. My Dad is a retired Navy SEAL/UDT Frogman and I want to out shoot him! You would think at 70 years old he would be losing something shooting-wise but it isn’t happening. I would ultimately like to shoot 1-2” groups at 100 yards.
My questions are as follows:
1. Is a free float barrel (Colt 6940) necessary for someone like me?
2. Are the quad rail’s (BCM Mod 2) uncomfortable to grasp barehanded when shooting? (I REALLY like the idea of the BCM Mod 0 with some $119.00 folding rear sights). A Quad type rail even necessary for my needs?
**3. Is there something I am missing when looking at how these two rifles are made/manufactured that places one above the other? They seem almost identical albeit Colt has an awesome history of reliability and quality, as does BCM from my research.