Specific question on crimping [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Specific question on crimping

SC_Dave
12-08-2012, 10:06
I am sorry to belabor the crimp question but I have little experience and wnat to do it right. I\Just got my 9mm taper/seat crimp die, I adjusted it to remove the flare. However, with the cartridge between my thumb and forefinger I can, with some force push the bullet further into the case. Do I need slightly more crimp?

Thanks, David

SARDG
12-08-2012, 10:34
It's been determined in a number of previous posts and threads that the crimp does not hold the bullet in the case. You need more neck tension. Are you resizing properly?

posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire (http://www.outdoorhub.com/mobile/)

dhgeyer
12-08-2012, 10:37
You have way too little case neck tension holding the bullet. Those rounds aren't even safe, as the process of stripping them from the magazine and loading them into the chamber may push the bullet deeper into the case, causing an increase in chamber pressure.

Crimping will not increase case neck tension. It may slightly decrease it in some cases if you are over crimping.

However, with that little retention, I would suspect your problem lies elsewhere. Look at some reloaded rounds. You should be able to see where the bullet has expanded the case near the mouth as it forced its way in. In other words, you should be able to see from the outside of the case where the bullet is in the case and where the base of the bullet is. It may not be hugely obvious, but you should be able to see some expansion where the bullet is. If, as I suspect, you can't see this, then you need to look at other parts of the reloading process - not the crimp.