My first reloads [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : My first reloads

smokin762
12-08-2012, 18:22
As I have stated before, I am new to reloading. I own the Lyman Manual and the Hornady Manual. Some things are a little unclear to me. For example, which manual do I want to go by when using Accurate No. 5 Powder with Hornady 230gr. FMJ-RN bullets for reloading .45 ACP?

The other day, I loaded up my first batch to take to the range. I went with the data from the Lyman Manual except I didnít use their recommendation of going with an OAL of 1.272Ē. I decided to go with an OAL of 1.253Ē. This was the same measurement as the UMC factory loaded ammunition that I already had on hand. This measurement chambered nicely for both my Glock 30 and 36 and did not enter the rifling before it was supposed to.

I know I probably shouldnít have done this especially since I am new to reloading but I know how I am. I will always wonder what it is like. I went with the max powder charge from the Lyman manual. The Lyman manual max powder charge for AA No.5 is 8.2 grains. While the Hornady manual states a max charge for AA No.5 is 7.9 grains.

I now donít feel like the max charge is needed. I am glad I got that over with. I now want to reduce the charge and test that ammunition to see how accurate it is. My goal is to reload reliable and accurate ammunition.

The 25 Yard target may not be the best of shooting but I am hoping with reloading, Iíll get better.

If anybody has any tips please fill me in. :wavey:

http://www.glocktalk.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=1704&pictureid=6157

Target at 21 Feet.
http://www.glocktalk.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=1702&pictureid=6155

Target at 25 Yards.
http://www.glocktalk.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=1703&pictureid=6156

DoctaGlockta
12-08-2012, 19:10
You are brand new to reloading so for your very first rounds you started with a max charge and a shorter OAL :dunno: