Need some 1911 repair advice. [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Need some 1911 repair advice.

jetflier1989
12-16-2012, 09:34
I recently came into posession (free) of a used Taurus PT 1911 and there are some safety issues with it mainly "hammer fall". I did a google search and apparently it's no secret with these guns (hammer fall and half cock mode). Also, I read on some of them the stock ambi safety is not properly fitted and can fail too. My intentions are to never ccw it, but I want to make it a safe shooter and because it was free I don't mind throwing a few bucks into it. Selling the gun and sending it back to Taurus are not options. I don't want to deal with an overseas company for repair and the later is for obvious reasons.

Ok, from what i've read (I'm no pro) the hammer fall is associated with the hammer, sear, and sear spring so those parts will most likely need to be replaced, most recommend Wilson Combat RP's. I will probably replace the safety while i'm at it too just to be on the safe side.

With all this in mind what ohter work would you guys have done if it was yours? (I will also speak with the LGS who I don't know all that well but comes highly recommended) to make it a solid, safe combat shooter. Not a precise target gun.

Also, Like I mentioned above I don't mind putting a few bucks into it.. say in the $400 to $500 range as I probably can not buy a quality 1911 for that anyways. I would like to drop it off to the GS once and be done. Thanks.

MD357
12-16-2012, 10:27
Get a C&S, EGW, ignition kit or something of the like. Pick a quality safety again C&S, EGW, Wilson, Brown etc..... depends on your preference. I'd start from there and eventually go through all the slide parts too, not as much as priority IMO though.

jetflier1989
12-16-2012, 11:25