What is your process to develop the most accurate load? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : What is your process to develop the most accurate load?

igolfat8
12-17-2012, 20:55
I have been loading for a few years, mostly to save money shooting my .40 S&W pistols. I don't shoot competition so I don't understand Major and Minor jargon. Neither do I have a chrono. My goal is to develop loads for my 40s for accuracy without a mule kick. For someone with my needs what is your advice and process for developing accurate loads?

njl
12-17-2012, 21:35
Buy a chronograph for starters.

njl
12-17-2012, 21:39
Major power factor (PF) is 165.
Minor PF is 125.

PF = bullet weight in grains X velocity in ft/s / 1000

If you're not shooting matches where PF matters, then it really doesn't matter, unless you're shooting reactive targets. Weaker PF rounds won't knock things over as well. Slower rounds are more prone to bouncing back after hitting a hard target.

PhantomF4E
12-17-2012, 21:48