Accessorizing my AR [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Accessorizing my AR

xmanhockey7
12-20-2012, 00:15
Currently I have a stock Bushmaster AR-15 like this. I'm looking to add a rail system so I can put an eotech, fore grip, and flash light. I want to go tactical with this gun. Any suggestions regarding what rail, fore grip, and flashlight to get? My budget for everything is about $1,000 and I figure the eotech will set me back about $500. I would also like to try and keep it as light weight as possible for the stuff I'll be putting on.
http://www.internationalpolicesupply.net/LE-Patrolman-Carb-A2-Blue.jpg

mvician
12-20-2012, 00:40
If your upper is an A2 as shown in the picture the best advice would be to sell it or to have the upper receiver replaced with a "flat top" upper.

An EOTech is not going to play well mounted on a rail or a gooseneck scope adapter.

xmanhockey7
12-20-2012, 00:44
If your upper is an A2 as shown in the picture the best advice would be to sell it or to have the upper receiver replaced with a "flat top" upper.

An EOTech is not going to play well mounted on a rail or a gooseneck scope adapter.

Okay. My brother put his on the same gun. He knows more about this stuff than I do I'm mostly just into handguns but with what's going on it's time to do things to my AR now instead of later.

DAIadvisor
12-20-2012, 02:24
You can get an inexpensive UTG rail for about 40 bucks with all the covers, see if you like them That way you don't blow 300 bucks on something you'll later hate. Another question you want to ask yourself is - is this going to be my "range only" gun or are you actually going to carry it around for hours on end. All the tacticool crap adds a lot of weight to the weapon, plus it snags on everything imaginable and gets banged up (First hand experience, I am currently in Afghanistan).