AR15 Ammo question [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : AR15 Ammo question

Teej
12-21-2012, 08:59
I am a newbie to AR's. Just picked up my first which is a Bushmaster.

My friend told me to stay away from the Russian .223 ammo. He said it would foul it up and I'd be doing a lot of cleaning. However as you all know, ammo is currently dried up out there.

I have located some Silver Bear 55 grn FMJ and HP. What are your thoughts on this please?

Leigh
12-21-2012, 09:02
I prefer brass but steel case ammo works just fine.
I consider all ammo "dirty" so cleaning is just a part of gun ownership to me.
If the ammo is not corrosive to begin with, your rifle won't be any more "fouled" than using brass-cased stuff.

Teej
12-21-2012, 09:03
Well they just sold last case out while I was posting. lol

Oh well. I'd still appreciate your opinions. In the mean time I have a nice looking club...... :whistling:

GAFinch
12-21-2012, 09:12
I've still seen some .223 hunting ammo available. More expensive but still very effective and better than having nothing.

P99er
12-21-2012, 09:55
It was originally thought that the older Russian ammo which had a lacquer coating, would cause it to gum up the works: if you ran brass case behind it, the lacquer build up could gum up the brass case and cause it to jam. Somebody did a test to test the theory and found that the lacquer was indeed sticking to the brass cases and fouling the action, causing jams. You could see specs of lacquer on the brass cases. Folks decided if you were going to use Wolf, stay with it until you cleaned your rifle.

Then, it evolved into combloc ammo for combloc guns.

Now, I think most Russian ammo is polymer coated. I don't know if they are having the same problems with the polymer coating, but I haven't read much about it. You can try arfcom or M4C.net to find out for sure.

Some people think steel cases hurt the extractor, and some advocated a third party extractor and spring.