Wilson Combat Mag problem! [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Wilson Combat Mag problem!

9mmmountaineer
12-26-2012, 22:06
Got a new Wilson combat mag for my 3" Kimber and as soon as I got it to the range 6 of 10 mags loaded the final round pushed straight up and caught the tip of the 230gr fmj in between the slide and the hood of the barrel.

I've never had a failure like this so I'm not sure if there is an acronym Fail To Feed maybe.

It only did it on the very last round in the mag. My Kimber mag that came with the gun has been flawless so far, so I'm sure it's the mag itself.

Any clue what causes this?
Any remedy?
Send it back?

So many questions any help is appreciated!
Also this is my first 1911 so I have no prior experience if it's common

fnfalman
12-26-2012, 22:15
If they don't work in your guns, then they don't work in your guns. It does happen.

I have a bunch of 10mm mags that don't work too well in my two Delta Elites but factory mags and CMC mags work just fine. I have a .38 Super mag that choked up with all five of my .38 Supers while; you guess it, other brands work just fine.

Lesson learned: I'm sticking to CMC, Tripp and Mec-Gar. Maybe I can use those Wilson Combat mags for trade for other mags.

ArmoryDoc
12-26-2012, 22:28
Got a new Wilson combat mag for my 3" Kimber and as soon as I got it to the range 6 of 10 mags loaded the final round pushed straight up and caught the tip of the 230gr fmj in between the slide and the hood of the barrel.

I've never had a failure like this so I'm not sure if there is an acronym Fail To Feed maybe.

It only did it on the very last round in the mag. My Kimber mag that came with the gun has been flawless so far, so I'm sure it's the mag itself.

Any clue what causes this?
Any remedy?
Send it back?

So many questions any help is appreciated!
Also this is my first 1911 so I have no prior experience if it's common