RIA 10MM Groove Diameter. [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : RIA 10MM Groove Diameter.


steve4102
12-27-2012, 18:11
The barrel on my New 10MM came with a **** ton of copper in the bore. It continues to copper foul very badly, so I slugged the bore.

Bore slug measures .4035-.404. WOW, that's a some kind of a big. :shocked:

Looks like a trip back to Armscor is in order.

ilgunguygt
12-28-2012, 00:55
I would think that a call to Armscor would be in order. I am pretty sure they will make it right though. Everyone lets a bad one through, but I have always heard good things about Armscor. Especially about freebies when they come back.

Be sure to let us know how this turns out. It will benefit us all.:wavey:

475-480
12-28-2012, 10:39
So you can drop a .400"- HP bullet down your barrel and it will not get stuck? If it is that big a .400" jacketed bullet should drop right thru the barrel.



Sean

Jim Watson
12-28-2012, 13:02
Unless they are using very old tech to make barrels, they probably let a lot more than one bad one through.
To generate a 10mm barrel with .404" groove with modern machines would call for somebody to grind a button, broach, or mandrel that much oversize. No telling how long it ran before somebody noticed it. If yet.

B.Reid
12-28-2012, 13:55
Can't wait to hear what they say.

steve4102
12-28-2012, 16:27
So you can drop a .400"- HP bullet down your barrel and it will not get stuck? If it is that big a .400" jacketed bullet should drop right thru the barrel.



Sean

No, "groove diameter".

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y17/steve4102/BoreslugMic2.jpg

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y17/steve4102/boreslugCaliper2.jpg

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y17/steve4102/boresluglands.jpg

steve4102
12-28-2012, 16:36
I called Armscor. They have no pistols or parts available. They offered me a refund now or I could wait until sometime in January when they get parts and pistols.

I have my choice of a new barrel and guide rod or a new pistol.

I can't imagine mine is the only 10MM out there with an oversized bore.

475-480
12-28-2012, 16:51
I can't imagine mine is the only 10MM out there with an oversized bore.

I will check mine with pin gages when I get home this evening.

Thanks,
Sean

steve4102
12-28-2012, 17:09
I will check mine with pin gages when I get home this evening.

Thanks,
Sean

Thanks, I would appreciate that.

475-480
12-28-2012, 20:44
Thank the LORD , .400". I do have some copper buildup in the grooves though, accuracy is good with .401 cast bullets.

Sean