CCW Insurance? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : CCW Insurance?

igolfat8
12-27-2012, 21:38
How many of you have a separate insurance policy to cover your defense fees should you be involved in an shooting? There are a few companies that I have seen but I have no first hand knowledge of them. The NRA offers a rider but seems pricey. My home owners policy doesn't offer any umbrella policy so I am considering purchasing some insurance. What say you?

TMNKWD
12-28-2012, 07:35
You should really have your exposures evaluated by a knowledgeable insurance broker or agent. An umbrella policy is an excess liability policy that provides additional protection for civil liability by providing defense costs and indemnification to the injured party over and above what you might have with homeowners or your auto coverage. They are pretty affordable and you can often get 1 million in umbrella coverage for a couple hundred bucks a year. If your current insurance carrier does not offer umbrella coverage, you should switch.

Be aware, homeowners and excess liability is for defense and indemnification for acts in which you are liable for in a civil matter – not criminal. You’d still need to pay to defend yourself in a criminal matter, although there is some limited coverage available out there.

I’d start by sitting downwith your insurance guy and see what he thinks.

VC-Racing
12-28-2012, 07:55
If its deemed a good shoot in my state. There is no civil liability per SC Law.

posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire (http://www.outdoorhub.com/mobile/)

Ay Dios Mio
12-28-2012, 11:56
Check out:

http://www.armedcitizensnetwork.org/

redbaron007
12-28-2012, 12:20