Illinois and Michigan laws and my carry permit [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Illinois and Michigan laws and my carry permit

boose88
01-10-2013, 20:55
OK so I moved from MI to IL and had no idea IL has such crazy laws. (thats not the topic of this thread)

So I want to bring my G19 to IL (yes it is in an area that allows high capacity mags). I know I need to obtain an IL license to be able to apply for my FOID card. Do I have to be an IL resident for a certain amount of time before I can get my FOID card?

When I do receive my FOID card do I have to register the firearm or can I just go back to MI and pick it up?

OK the carry question...
When I get my foid card and figure out all this mess about legally bringing my glock I will be a resident of IL and my MI CPL is still valid.

When I go to MI can I legally carry my pistol even though I am an IL resident now?

EDIT* I currently have my CPL for MI. Is switching residency via drivers license going to screw me over and void the CPL when I go to visit family? (thats a much better way to ask)

If it is legal I am assuming that all I need to do when I cross into MI is pull my car over and grab the G19 from the trunk and load it in a concealed manner and continue with my business...Right?

Thanks for the help everyone

buckeyeglock
01-10-2013, 21:16
I don't think Michigan allows a non resident to apply for a Michigan CCW permit. Technically I believe as soon as you declare residency in another state, your residency in the state you left is null and void, as would be your CCW permit. To legally carry in the state of Michigan you would need to apply and obtain a state that allows Non Residents to hold that states permit ( ie Idaho). Then you have to make sure that Michigan has reciprocity with Idaho. If it does then you are good to go. I was in a similiar situation in 2008 when I moved from Ohio where I had a Ohio permit, to Huntley Illinois.