Gun Choice for CCW [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Gun Choice for CCW

G20c
01-19-2013, 22:37
I carry my G20c when in the woods, but I am new to CCW.

I am considering two pistols, one in .357 Sig and the other in 9mm.

The trade offs are 9mm = 16 rounds per mag
and .357 Sig is 12. The Sig round seems to have earned a great reputation for defense, not that the 9mm is all that far behind.

So with 2 mags total, it would be 32 rounds of 9mm, or 24 rounds of .357 Sig?

I can't seem to wrap my brain around giving up the extra round count, but really want the .357 Sig round for its reputation.

The 9mm will cheaper to shoot unless I reload for the .357.

What say yall?

Travelin' Jack
01-19-2013, 22:46
All the "duty calibers" are similar enough that you really can't go wrong with whatever you choose.

That said, 357 Sig is my favorite and if it's available in my platform of choice it will be my first pick. I wish the Walther PPQ came in 357 Sig.

Travelin' Jack
01-19-2013, 22:47
Also if you haven't watched them, check out tnoutdoor9's videos on YouTube. He has gel tested the 357 in Golden Sabre, Federal HST, Speer Gold Dot and Underwood Gold Dot. Not to mention a number of 9mm hollow points.

rl356
01-19-2013, 22:54
G33 with G31/G22 mags for reloads.

nickcarr
01-20-2013, 01:04
I highly recommend shooting the 357SIG before buying. It's an awesome round on paper but I was very surprised how hard it was to re-acquire the target after the first shot (with a G31.)

I say go for the G19 or G23 depending on which caliber you prefer. (You can always shoot 9mm in the G23 with a barrel swap.)

IndyGunFreak
01-20-2013, 01:09
I'm not a fan of the .357sig. To expensive, to difficult to find locally, a pain to reload.. just not worth it to me. In your scenario, I'd go 9mm all the way.

RJ's Guns
01-20-2013, 01:14