Confused about an 870 Super Magnum. Please help [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Confused about an 870 Super Magnum. Please help

Carboran
01-21-2013, 19:02
Hello everyone. I am relatively new to the world of shotguns, so this might be a very basic question. Sorry if it is.

A couple of months ago, I had the opportunity to purchase an 870 super magnum from Remington for a good price, which I did.

I never hunt, but really enjoy pigeon clay shooting, so its 28" barrel was very appealing. I also was planning on buying an 18" barrel for home protection.

So here is where my confusin comes in.

So my 28" barrel said 12 gauge, 2 3/4 inch, 3 inch and 3.5 inch shells.

I bought an 18 inch barrel from Cabellas, which says 2 3/4 inch and 3 inch.

No worries, I thought. I plan on using ONLY 2 3/4 shells

But then my friend was like "Oh, it depends on the receiver. Some receivers can't take short barrels"

I cvalled Cabella's and the tech rep gave me some super convioluted answer, which left me even more confused.

I thought all barrels for 870s were interchangeable!!!!

I guess I can try it, but no range around me allows 18" barrels, and I haven't ahd the time to drive a couple of hours to one that does.

So... my question is. Can I use an 18" barrel on a Remington 870 express suprer magnum, with original 28" barrel, or is it going to explode in my face :wow:

Thanks a lot!!

garya1961
01-21-2013, 21:28
I know you can use a 3 and 1/2 inch magnum barrel in a 3 inch receiver. I had a problem and Remington gave me a 3 and 1/2 inch barrel for my 3 inch Express receiver. I called them up and they told me not to worry it would shoot 2 and 3/4 and 3 inch shells with no problem.
I don't see why it wouldn't work the other way around. You could just call Remington and ask though.

method
01-21-2013, 22:51