Why Doctors Should Not Ask Their Patients About Guns [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Why Doctors Should Not Ask Their Patients About Guns

RussP
01-22-2013, 13:13
Dr. Hsieh posted this in Gun Control. It is appropriate here, too.I am a physician, Glock owner, and an advocate of the 2nd Amendment. I hope GlockTalk readers enjoy this piece of mine which appeared in today's Forbes.com:

Forbes: "Why Doctors Should Not Ask Their Patients About Guns (http://www.forbes.com/sites/paulhsieh/2013/01/22/why-doctors-should-not-ask-their-patients-about-guns/)" (1/22/2013)

(Please feel free to forward this onto anyone who might be interested. Thanks! --Paul Hsieh, MD)

blackjack
01-22-2013, 14:44
Well stated. I'm saving that article to print out in case a physician decides they need to make that inquiry. Since I'm in OK, I kind of doubt most physicians would make the attempt.

RJ's Guns
01-22-2013, 15:38
I have not been following this issue. Am I correct that physicans are only asking these questions if someone has minors living with them? If physicians are asking these question, whether or not a patient has minors living with them and my physician asks me about my firearms, I will refuse to answer and I will find a new physician. If I did have minors living in my home and a doctor behaved in that manner, I would do the same.

What is next, asking me about what assets that I have, my net worth, what property that I own and how and where I spend my money. Who the hell do these Doctors think they are? Their God complexes seem to be running amok.

That type of behavior would motivate me to do some legal research so as to determine what legal recourse is available. Most people would think it unwise to so motive a retired litigation attorney with a lot of time on his hands.

RJ

SouthernBoyVA
01-22-2013, 16:14
There is a great answer to this question should it ever be posed. Don't answer it. How hard is that?

akapennypincher
01-22-2013, 19:26