Resale value of a Glock w grip modification [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Resale value of a Glock w grip modification

maestrogustav
01-24-2013, 14:26
Let's say from one of the best pros in the business-- a hump reduction and texturing will have what sort of impact on the resale value of a current Glock?

Please let us know if you've had experience with this. thanks.

BMiracletx
01-24-2013, 14:58
I have no personal experience with GLocks, but I do know that for most guns custom modifications don't usually add much to anything on resale... and sometimes can lower your resale.

Perhaps on this if you sold it to another forum member who is seeking a grip reduction then you might be okay. Personally... I wouldn't buy a gun with a modified frame or grip... others might.

jakebrake
01-24-2013, 15:05
normal circumstances, i'd say it's the kiss of death.

these days, put it on gunbroker as an assault glock...and retire.

seriously, photos would probably help to determine how much you'll lose off "normal" pricing.

CincyBrad
01-24-2013, 15:25
Most grip mods, even from a pro, make the weapon look like crap. It will hurt the resale value significantly. When people buy used, they want a stock gun. Changing sights is ok, it's not a permanent alteration, chopping the grip is.

matteblack
01-24-2013, 15:29
Let's say from one of the best pros in the business-- a hump reduction and texturing will have what sort of impact on the resale value of a current Glock?

My experience has been different than other posters. If its done well by someone known it does not change value as long as the buyer wants and appreciates the mods. Thats been my experience. However, the challenge is that once you do a grip mod you have made the appeal of your gun narrow and finding that special buyer could take a long time.
MB
:cool:

iflyem1
01-24-2013, 15:32