Most reliable Windows PC is a.......Mac? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Most reliable Windows PC is a.......Mac?


Detectorist
04-28-2013, 12:02
http://www.zdnet.com/want-the-most-reliable-windows-pc-buy-a-mac-or-maybe-a-dell-7000014469/?s_cid=e589&ttag=e589

PC makers keep putting bloatware on their machines.

mr00jimbo
04-28-2013, 12:15
I bought a Lenovo ThinkPad. I think it's a great laptop in almost every way...EXCEPT for the fact that it has bloatware!
When I first got it, the Norton Free Trial was causing a several second delay to load a webpage, and it was difficult to remove because every time I tried to uninstall it, the computer miraculously froze on me LOL.

Cut it out, PC manufacturers, or at least give us the option to have a computer sans bloatware (I think Dell does this with their business line).

Slug71
04-28-2013, 12:28
If you must have Windows, just buy a clean copy and do a reinstall.

I usually dual-boot all my PCs with Ubuntu. Mostly use Ubuntu.

faawrenchbndr
04-28-2013, 12:33
Been running Mac for just over a year,.......flawless.
Always had issues with Windows, viruses, crashes, always a pain.

certifiedfunds
04-28-2013, 13:38
My MacBook Pro and MacBook Air run win7 flawlessly with parallels


Posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire (http://www.outdoorhub.com/mobile/)

Dennis in MA
04-28-2013, 15:20
Mac is not flawless. I CAN crash stuff. I have a gift. But Bloatware was a reason I went 100% apple 18 months ago.

certifiedfunds
04-28-2013, 15:48
Mac is not flawless. I CAN crash stuff. I have a gift. But Bloatware was a reason I went 100% apple 18 months ago.

We're in the process of voting you out.


Posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire (http://www.outdoorhub.com/mobile/)

SleeperSS
04-28-2013, 15:57
I run a 27" iMac with Paralles and Windows 7 also. Windows is usually up and running in about 15 seconds. I use it for Quicken and Quickbooks. The Mac version of these programs is not up to the task.

Resqu2
04-28-2013, 16:29
I run a 27" iMac with Paralles and Windows 7 also. Windows is usually up and running in about 15 seconds. I use it for Quicken and Quickbooks. The Mac version of these programs is not up to the task.


That's the same reason I run Win 7 on my MBP, I always though Win. 7 run better than on a PC. I run Win 7 on my IMac to program FD radios and mess with Potoshop and its flawless also.

Goodrich
04-28-2013, 17:05
build my PC's from the ground up so i never have a problem with bloatware.

airmotive
04-28-2013, 17:07
Don't even get me started.



...and to answer any questions from my thread (without dragging it kicking and screaming back to the top)...No, it doesn't and no they haven't.

certifiedfunds
04-28-2013, 17:11
Don't leave airmotive alone with your Mac!


Posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire (http://www.outdoorhub.com/mobile/)

fullhouse
04-28-2013, 17:13
build my PC's from the ground up so i never have a problem with bloatware.

Same here. Except I run Linux as the native OS and run Win7 from VirtualBox as a guest for those rare occasions when I need to run a Windows program.

airmotive
04-28-2013, 17:23
Don't leave airmotive alone with your Mac!


Posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire (http://www.outdoorhub.com/mobile/)

Damnit man! It's my wife, I tell you! My wife! I swear to God....It's HER. (she's away from home on business for the next week. I might have an accidental discharge while cleaning the Sigs on her office desk...:badpc: )

certifiedfunds
04-28-2013, 17:30
Damnit man! It's my wife, I tell you! My wife! I swear to God....It's HER. (she's away from home on business for the next week. I might have an accidental discharge while cleaning the Sigs on her office desk...:badpc: )

I applaud you for sticking to your story. Best strategy, unless the secret Apple police show up.


Posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire (http://www.outdoorhub.com/mobile/)