Interesting Site [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Interesting Site


Glockrunner
06-11-2003, 11:37
Click on the site, kind of interesting...

http://www.palletmastersworkshop.com/flipside.html (http://http://www.palletmastersworkshop.com/flipside.html)

igrp
06-12-2003, 08:33
Cool site. Thanks. I especially like the picture on the top of the page. :)

KA3N
06-12-2003, 12:20
It's Spyware - don't install it!

See: http://www.safersite.com/PestInfo/db/s/startsurfing.asp and read the description.

igrp
06-12-2003, 14:34
Originally posted by KA3N
It's Spyware - don't install it!

See: http://www.safersite.com/PestInfo/db/s/startsurfing.asp and read the description.

Hmm, I didn't see any software, plugins, ActiveX controls or aynthing of other kind of executables on that page that one *could* possibly install. I just ran AdAware on my machine and it found nothing. There's an embedded midi on that page but other than that I couldn't find anything? Hmm. Did I miss something?

Just to, you know, double check, we're both talking about the webpage titled "The Flip Side of Hollywood", right?

KA3N
06-12-2003, 14:54
Interesting ...

When going through my company's Intranet and out a proxy to the Internet, it redirects me to the StartSurfing page...

I dropped my VPN connection and went direct to the Internet, and I get the correct Hollywood page.

Can't imagine why that happened, but I'll report it to my company.

Sorry!

igrp
06-14-2003, 07:15
Originally posted by KA3N
Interesting ...

When going through my company's Intranet and out a proxy to the Internet, it redirects me to the StartSurfing page...

I dropped my VPN connection and went direct to the Internet, and I get the correct Hollywood page.

Can't imagine why that happened, but I'll report it to my company.

Sorry!

No problem at all. It's interesting indeed. Maybe they're running some weird kind of of dynamic content engine on that Hollywood Page's server. Or they're doing filtering based on IP addresses (it strikes me as weird though to redirect to some spyware site just based on an IP adress range). I doubt it's a problem on your side of the 'net though (unless there's a squid daemon running on the gateway server that's misconfigured). Anyway, thanks for the heads up on the spyware thing.

06-14-2003, 13:31
I get that Start Surfing page too, and I'm at home. I do have a firewall up, but that's it...

It'll start loading the correct page, but then kicks me to the Start Surfing page. $#*&! spyware...

SpyBot doesn't find anything on my system, either...

06-14-2003, 14:16
Hmm...if I disable auto-redirection, I get an "Object moved" message, with a link to the stupid start surfing site...

WAMII
06-15-2003, 16:13
The problem is that source code for the link contains 2 http:// references href="http://http://www.palletmastersworkshop.com/flipside.html"
Depending upon what broser you are using you may get differeing results.

06-16-2003, 12:20
Opera 7 here...same results w/6...

Copying the text from the link works.

pdxbubba
06-16-2003, 13:54
give this link a try: Hollywood On The Flip Side (http://www.palletmastersworkshop.com/flipside.html)