Looking to Carry [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Looking to Carry

Gnu2Guns
09-04-2003, 19:41
Ladies and Gents,
I'm new to trying concealed carry. I'm pretty comfortable with guns but haven't really had one strapped to my side. I took the NRA CC course and have my carry license but am still looking for the "perfect" female carry firearm. I've tried several (both firing and just holding) but am still looking for my first carry weapon (I have a .32 but do not want to carry this; it's a historical piece). I'm interested in a semi-auto (no revolvers) - either a .40 or .45; nothing smaller in caliber. I do not want a plastic/polymer firearm. I don't necessarily like double action. Maybe I'll look for a red-dot laser site or maybe just some tritium dots. I prefer a lighter trigger pull, 3-4" barrel and high capacity mag. I'll most likely carry with HydroShock or an equivalent ammo. Physically, I'm on the small side (strong side carry, outside the waistband, likely kydex- no cross draws or fanny packs/purses). If you can provide any advice, I'd appreciate it. Keep shootin!

geminicricket
09-04-2003, 20:56
Rent and fire lots of guns. Don't reject the 9mm and .380 class of chamberings. When you find something with which you can consistently hit the target, which is reliable, and which is for sale, buy it.

A few months ago the NRA magazine had an article about revolvers as concealed carry guns. It turned out that all the writers and editors who had gathered to confer over hacking out a story for John Q. Public on the merits of carrying old-fashioned and out-of-date revolvers for personal protection were called upon to reveal the type of gun they were carrying for personal protection that day. All of them were carrying revolvers, a lot of them were snub-nosed .38's.

Welcome to the sane side of life, just don't go crazy trying to get one perfect gun to defend against NFL linemen, stalking cougars, and charging elephants.