Tree stand height [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Tree stand height

Stevie T
11-28-2003, 04:53
How high do you guys have your tree stands? I don't like heights & the ladder stand I bought goes up 15 feet (too high for me). Do you guys ever mount anything lower?

This is my first time deer hunting & I want to make it as enjoyable as possible (and safe).

johndoe
11-28-2003, 06:09
Mine is 15',like you I did not like it at first but after awhile I got used to it.Try going up in it without gun/bow first and sit for awhile.Use a safty strap.They do make 10 footers.Also if you set it up where you have another tree next to you when in the stand it doest seem as bad.(right side if your right handed, so you can shoot to your left.)

sarge
11-28-2003, 09:24
My son and I use the 15 and 20 foot ladder stands and love 'em. Like was said before, once you get used to it, all is OK. When you are on the ground looking up, it doesn't look that far, but up there looking down looks like a mile the first time you get in it.

One thing you might do is if the ladder stand is in sections ( all of mine are in 5 foot sections) take one of the sections out and leave it on the ground until you get used to the height. Then add the other 5 feet, and the aditional height might not seem so drastic.

Good luck, and safe hunting.

PS- ALWAYS use a safety belt ANY time you go up in an elevated stand. Every year people are seriously injured and crippled or killed due to falling out of a stand. About 20 years ago ( when I was young, and thought nothing could hurt me), I fell asleep in a stand, and woke up and caught myself as I was going over the side at about 25 feet. It scared me so bad that it took me a while to be able to climb down out of the stand. I always had a belt with me, but NEVER wore it. Since that time, ANY time I am in an elevated stand, I always have a safety belt on. Do not take a chance!! These words are spoken from someone that has "Been there, done that"!!

vafish