Aviation as a career... [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Aviation as a career...

C150J
12-07-2003, 22:12
Hey all,

First, I'd like to thank all of those involved in setting up this forum - nicely done!

I'd like to hear from the pro pilots on this board concerning their thoughts about professional aviation careers. Does it become "just a job" after a while? Do you have any regrets about your career choice? I'm a junior in college with almost 500 hours of flight time (only about twenty of which is multi), and am at a fork in the road: spend my summer months getting instructor certs, or focusing on law enforcement with an internship. (my other career aspiration).

I thoroughly enjoy flying, but am left with plenty of questions, Like any field, I've run into plenty of cynics and those who see no future in aviation, as well as those who wouldn't have it any other way. What do y'all think? If I were to fly for a living, I can see myself as a frax ownership operator (NetJet, FlexJet, etc.) or part of a corporate flight department.

Blue Skies!
Justin

Texas T
12-07-2003, 22:47
Justin, I'm not qualified to answer your question, but I can only tell you what I would do if I were in your position. You are a very fortunate young man; most kids would consider themselves lucky to receive a car on their 16th birthday, but you got yourself an airplane! ;f

Law Enforcement is a steady career. When is the last time you heard of a cop getting laid off due to outsourcing or downsizing? The airline industry is anything but stable and secure, even for those with 10 or more years seniority.

While I think your idea of being a pilot in the frac ownership end of the business is a good idea, I would also think that if layoffs were to get severe in the airline industry you will see a lot of competition from furloughed pilots for the seat you are seeking.