CCWs and General Aviation [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : CCWs and General Aviation

C150J
12-09-2003, 01:18
Here's a very fitting question for this forum. Keep in mind that I have no experience with CCWs, as I'm 20 and live in NYS.

Is there anything that precludes a private plane owner from CCWing in their aircraft? I haven't consulted the FARs on this matter, but recall that it is routine in AK for pilots to carry long-arms in their aircraft. Obviously, some airports prohibit firearms, but what about the run-of-the-mill GA field?

Blue Skies!
J.

BillCola
12-10-2003, 17:52
To the best of my knowledge...it isn't even addressed. I ask you...with the world seemingly focused of GA security, or apparent lack therof, what is the wise thing to do?

Ahab's gettin' clipped if he tries for my plane!

Further, I have no intention of overflying or landing in any state that won't recognize at least one of the CCW's in my little collection. Pee on 'em. :cool:

CDM
12-10-2003, 21:17
To the best of my knowledge, there is nothing in the FAR's that prohibit it for GA.

At least in TX, the state only prohibits CCW in the secured area of the terminal, and the wording in the law is very specific. Every FBO I've ever been to doesn't fall under the definition.

I thought about asking the San Antonio Intl Airport training officer about it when I got my security badge/ramp pass, but I decided to just leave well-enough alone.

I believe there was a thread on this at packing.org some time ago and the concensus was that there were no FAR's prohibiting it, so it would depend on state regs.

Skyhook
12-16-2003, 04:28
Imagine geting 'made' at the local apron when, unbeknownst to you, the security guys are messin' 'bout cause some Big Muky-Muk is coming in or leaving. That might liven' up your day.