Question on Surf Fishing [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Question on Surf Fishing

LandShark
03-02-2004, 21:30
I am on the East Coast and can be anywhere from South Carolina up to New Jersey (Im Military). I am kind of new to Surf Fishing. Just bought a Okuma 10'w/ a bait runner on the reel. What do you recomend for bait or lures? Thanks for your posts.;c

03-03-2004, 04:20
Of, course it depends on the time of year, water temp, and what you are fishing for. But I love surf fishing. And most of the time its fun just to catch something. You can't go wrong with a bottom rig, with the appropriate sinkers for conditions. And then some squid or bloodworms, then cut up some of your catch when you run out. When the bluefish run or if you are going from a pier its a different story. Have fun and get some sand spikes and set up multiple poles and back your truck up for a seat in the bed. Man I can't wait till summer.

KB4IFS
03-03-2004, 06:41
May be too late for the Outer Banks, but in Oct it rips! The barrier island juts out into the Atlantic along fish migration routes. Try the state park for camping.

Elk-ruser
03-03-2004, 09:28
We always had good luck with the large Kastmasters and the like. Always good to have a few of those on hand. Also, some surface plugs are just a kick in the butt when hit by a fish. Stop in the local shop or chat with somebody else fishing in the area and I'm sure youll pick up some hints as well.

Enjoy.

Man, I miss the ocean. But Colorado aint to shabby either.

Erik

noway
03-03-2004, 09:48
i think you first have to ask "what are you fishing for?" The answer to that question would then solve you're problem.

I fish inshore from the surf but my rod and lure selection varies to what species of fish I'm trying for ( i.e snapper,trout,snook,red drum,etc....)

gatorfish
03-04-2004, 13:22