Any body use Maxima fishing line? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Any body use Maxima fishing line?

mudfootball
03-16-2004, 22:04
every year fishing for trout i bump a handful of guys using this stuff, they say its better (stronger and more castable, less memory) than other mono's. I will be using the two and four lb test. My question to any who use it is which one to buy they offer Chameleon, ultragreen and a pink third choice im not interested in really.
thanks
kt

f1b32oPTic
03-16-2004, 23:11
i just bought some P-Line flouro clear...it is really limp and super clear...

my favorite line all around is yozuri-hybrid
i use the 4lb. test and find it as durable as 6lb. trilene

the P-Line is clearer though

03-17-2004, 14:58
Yes, Maxima is great! I have been using it for about 15+ years. I have used it on spinning reels and as tippet material for my fly reels. I have taken huge lake trout 10+ lbs on 4lb maxima with no problems. I also use it while trolling for lakers and salmon. We use a 40 to 70 ft piece with high flash spoons and we have excellent results. It doesnt get twisted or strech as bad as the others. I like the Cameleon (spelling) color. I like the Cameleon because it takes on the color of the water you are fishing in. I would recommend Maxima line to anyone that fishes and doesnt want to deal with twisted line problems. Pound for pound it is super strong and abrasion resistent. You cant beat that.

I would also look into some Flourocarbon line. I like the Flouro beacuse you can get wicked small diamiter lines in heavier pound test ranges. EX: if you are fishing for salmon or trout and are using 8 to 10lb test the chances of the fish hitting your bait are slim VS using 6 to 10lb Flourocarbon it has the diamiter of 4 to 6lb test. It is pricy but worth the extra bucks.

Good luck.

flinch
03-19-2004, 09:54