Didn't want to fly. [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Didn't want to fly.

BillCola
06-10-2004, 12:55
Never happened before. I started flying at age 15, 28 years ago.

I scared myself yesterday. The passing of My Favorite President has left me in a funk. Yesterday, I had to take a 3 1/2 hour drive to Los Altos (San Jose) and I drove because I didn't feel like flying. I realized today, that in all these years, I have cancelled all kinds of flights for all kinds of reasons, but never did I not feel like flying.

The novelty of the drive wore off by the time I was on my way home. I think I'll fly today, he would have wanted me to.

Did you ever not want to fly??

Creepy...

Wulfenite
06-10-2004, 17:29
Originally posted by BillCola

No.

Time to seek help.

TimC
06-10-2004, 18:38
Originally posted by BillCola

Hell no!

Medpilot 2
06-10-2004, 18:43
I fly for a living so yes... there have been times I didn't want to go to work.

Texas T
06-10-2004, 19:55
Bill, I think you made a wise decision not to fly. We should all trust our guts more than we normally do. There was a reason for that feeling and it's good that you stayed on the ground. Whether you would have been distracted in flight, or if it was just a premonition that something was going to go wrong... makes no difference.

Now... wouldn't it be interesting if you go out to do your next pre-flight, you're a little more careful than normal, and you find something that could have been catastrophic if it failed? Then you would think back and thank your lucky stars that you stayed out of the air that day. :)

BillCola
06-10-2004, 20:38
I think you're right, Tex. I inspected the plane today, as I do most every day, and it was fine.

But, I had a measurably crappy attitude yesterday, and that, of course, is nothing to purposefully bring to the cockpit.

I guess for all of my faults, I'm not used to having a crappy attitude. It was scary out on the road! :)

Thanks for your support. :)

Skyhook