Do I want this bike?! KLR 650 DP [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Do I want this bike?! KLR 650 DP

fastvfr
06-26-2004, 17:20
Hello, all--

I have been riding for about 15 yrs now, and obviously I like VFR's!;b I have had two so far...a '97 and this 2001.

Thing is, these bikes are real lead pigs on anything other than pavement. I just about wiped out on a buddy's gravel driveway not too long ago, for instance, due to the front-end pushing and refusing to obey its master.

So, I'm looking at dual-purpose bikes. I've only had one Kaw (750 Spectre-don't go there...bad starter & shocks, kicked out of gear, ect.) and didn't care for it much besides the fact that the shaft drive was a nice switch.

With all these woods roads around here to explore, and no 4X4, I'm wanting to get into offroad riding.

I'd like to stay under $4,000, so that knocks the GS series Beemers out of the running; besides, the nearest place to get one serviced is 100 miles from here.

Will this little one-lung Thumper be alright for me? I am 6'3", 275 and my VFR fits like a glove.

I'm not concerned about shock clearance or other such high-performance issues; if it'll handle water bars at sane speeds then I'll be happy.

Anyone own one? Please feel free to comment!

TIA,

FastVFR

USMC79to83
06-27-2004, 08:31
OK, so this is just my opinion...

The KLR 650 is a good solid bike. It has decent fuel capacity, has been around a long time (meaning good parts and accessory support) and is reliable. It also has electric start, water cooling and a big motor, which makes it go pretty good on-road .

On the down side, it's kinda heavy and doesn't handle "all" that well off-road (but, it's a heck of a lot better than a VFR...!).

As a reasonably priced dual-sport compromise, it's a winner!

If you're looking for more off-road capable mounts in the $4,000 range, you could consider a used Suzuki DRZ 400, or Honda XR/XL 650.