brass case bulge [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : brass case bulge


cebuboy
07-06-2004, 09:44
hello bog, some of the brass cases that came out of my stock glock 21 has a bulge near the case head at the unsupported chamber area. are these cases still safe for reloading? is this normal? bullets are 230gr total metal jacketed standard load.

Medpilot 2
07-06-2004, 09:53
They have been "Glocked".

You may still be able to use them for some light loads if they don't show any other signs of stress other than the bulge.

ogiebb
07-06-2004, 10:20
yep they have been "glocked" try using a good sizing die like a lee or EGW (same thing)and iron them out also look for some signs of pressure..

doctabako
07-06-2004, 10:27
Had the same problem before with my Glock 30 when I used Teflon round nosed ammunition made by Tactical Corner(available at twin pines) which had a PF of 186(indicated on the label). They can still be resized, although my reloader advised me to throw them away after reloading them once. Be safe, the money you save initially isn't worth a cracked frame at the least, or worse, personal injury. FWIW Factory Armscor Ammo don't exhibit these signs.

bulm540
07-06-2004, 17:28
I am using glocked once fired cases in my .40 & knock on wood, I hAVE not had any problems. I probably reload them 2x.

ogiebb
07-06-2004, 18:26
Originally posted by bulm540
I am using glocked once fired cases in my .40 & knock on wood, I hAVE not had any problems. I probably reload them 2x.


i do also.. i buy them at brassmanbrass.com i load them up to 3x then throw them away...brass for .40 is so cheap its not even worth picking them up..glock fired brass is hit and miss some buldge but i take the extra precaution to use an EGW sizing die to iron out those pesky brass;)

9MX
07-06-2004, 18:36
Originally posted by ogiebb
i do also.. i buy them at brassmanbrass.com i load them up to 3x then throw them away...brass for .40 is so cheap its not even worth picking them up..glock fired brass is hit and miss some bulgebut i take the extra precaution to use an EGW sizing die to iron out those pesky brass;)

does this apply to G17 brass as well?;Q

ogiebb
07-06-2004, 18:43
Originally posted by 9MX
does this apply to G17 brass as well?;Q


actually it does sometimes .."SOME" brass fired from my glock 34 wont chamber with my CZ and Kahr using dillon dies.;Q ;Q ;Q

batangueno
07-06-2004, 20:11
Originally posted by ogiebb
i do also.. i buy them at brassmanbrass.com i load them up to 3x then throw them away...brass for .40 is so cheap its not even worth picking them up..
You guys are lucky over there...brass are like gold here.;f

ogiebb
07-06-2004, 20:34
Originally posted by batangueno
You guys are lucky over there...brass are like gold here.;f

i remember when i shot a match in laguna and some guy was trying to steal some of my brass..luckily a always mark the bottoms with a red marker:(

antediluvianist
07-07-2004, 00:27
A question for you reloader guys, please - Northstar charges P7 per reloaded lead-head round (same price whether it's 9mm or .45acp or .38 special). It's decent enough reloaded ammo.- cycles the slide OK and is good enough for practice-level accuracy - but is not as powerful as factory Armscor ammo. I think some sergeant in some military camp makes it.

Just curious - what does it cost you reloaders to make 9mm/.45/.38 special reloads with lead heads? a friend of mine who used to do it said about P4 - 5 per round. If that's the cost more or less, I guess P7 a round is ok as I don't shoot all that much. Maybe for real volume shooters, it would pay to go through all the hassle and cost of setting up a reloading operation. Thanks.

cebuboy
07-07-2004, 02:54
in cebu P7 is tmj standard load .45, if third party bbl like barsto or kkm is used will those bulges disappear?

doctabako
07-07-2004, 06:38
Originally posted by antediluvianist
A question for you reloader guys, please - Northstar charges P7 per reloaded lead-head round (same price whether it's 9mm or .45acp or .38 special).

I don't reload but True Power in Susanna Heights,Muntinlupa(near Bilibid Prisons) only charges 4.50 per for lead heads and 5.50 for teflon and you get to specify your powder charge and bullet weights to get whatever PF you like.:)

9MX
07-07-2004, 08:38
Originally posted by antediluvianist

Just curious - what does it cost you reloaders to make 9mm/.45/.38 special reloads with lead heads? a friend of mine who used to do it said about P4 - 5 per round. If that's the cost more or less, I guess P7 a round is ok as I don't shoot all that much. Maybe for real volume shooters, it would pay to go through all the hassle and cost of setting up a reloading operation. Thanks.

armscor marikina charges P5.00/pc fmj major load using cci primer. mataas talaga ang charge ng indoor ranges, jethro mcs is already open and i heard it has similar rates.

it must be all those opex, among which is the airconditionng system which ensures the shooter gets a hefty dose of lead;f

antediluvianist
07-07-2004, 08:51
"...among which is the airconditionng system which ensures the shooter gets a hefty dose of lead.."

Yes, 9mx, unfortunately that's true. After a session in Northstar I blow my nose and boy! there's the powder and lead dust. I actually cough for a while after a session. Ah, but an outdoor range in downtown Makati would be impossible. Ft.Bonifacio the closest.

So, I conclude from your comments that P7 per reload is relatively expensive : should be more like P4.50 - P5.50. The extra is for the airconditioning and rent in downtown Makati.



:(

9MX
07-07-2004, 08:55
Originally posted by antediluvianist
"...among which is the airconditionng system which ensures the shooter gets a hefty dose of lead.."

Yes, 9mx, unfortunately that's true. After a session in Northstar I blow my nose and boy! there's the powder and lead dust. I actually cough for a while after a session. Ah, but an outdoor range in downtown Makati would be impossible. Ft.Bonifacio the closest.

So, I conclude from your comments that P7 per reload is relatively expensive : should be more like P4.50 - P5.50. The extra is for the airconditioning and rent in downtown Makati.



:(

ante,

3 weeks ago, i was able to practice at the shooting range of the security and escort batallion in fort boni. its an open range and they only charge 50 bucks per person, no membership fee. if you're early you get the next available monobloc table;)

unfortunately, i cannot detail the directions in writing as i am unfamiliar with the specific landmarks surrounding it.

Eye Cutter
07-07-2004, 09:23
The Security & Escort Battalion (SEB) Range is the home range of Club 1911. It's located at the back of the Fort Bonifacio Station Hospital.

Coming from EDSA-Mckinley, turn right past Essensa going to Nichols. Enter the Army HQ Gate and you'll see the Army Museum and Clubhouse. Turn left then make a right and then you will see the hospital. Turn left (going downhill) then right at the gatehouse of the SEB.

antediluvianist
07-07-2004, 09:44
Thanks for the directions, guys. I have been to the Marine and Navy ranges - as a guest; but they aren't open to the walk-in public, as this one apparently is. P50 entrance fee? Cheap! Do they sell reloads there?

get2now
07-09-2004, 02:12
If it's bulged chuck it. It's not worth the problems it could cause, especially in a Glock. It's no fun having one of those blowing out on you.

cebuboy
07-09-2004, 04:48
Originally posted by get2now
If it's bulged chuck it. It's not worth the problems it could cause, especially in a Glock. It's no fun having one of those blowing out on you.

thanks for the info, those bulged brass makes me uncomfortable, i'm planning on getting a kkm barrel, any comments?

9MX
07-09-2004, 13:58
Originally posted by antediluvianist
Thanks for the directions, guys. I have been to the Marine and Navy ranges - as a guest; but they aren't open to the walk-in public, as this one apparently is. P50 entrance fee? Cheap! Do they sell reloads there?

nope, go to stroghand and/or armscor marikina for reloads:)

revo
07-09-2004, 23:16
Yes, this is the problem with ALL Glocks using the factory barrel.
To get rid of the problem, I simply changed out all the barrels
on my Glocks to wither KKM Precision or Jarvis barrels and - voila -
no more case bulge.

Yes, I have reloaded some cases that had a case bulge but I inspected
each and every one of them after resizing to be sure the case was
still intact.

get2now
07-10-2004, 02:59
Revo, I'm curious, did you change barrels because you had a problem with all your Glocks or did you change barrels before you had any problems?
I've only had one G24 bulge the brass and that was when I was experimenting with 200 grain bullets. All my other Glocks work just fine and never bulged a case. Well maybe except for in the late 80's with some hot loaded 9mm's in a 17L.

My recommendation is still to throw away bulged cases. Whether they look good or not after being reloaded the case has still been compromised. Don't trust it.

cebuboy
07-10-2004, 04:10
hi get2now, most of my bulged brass came from the g21, well the bulge is not too big just a little that you can see an indentation of the unsupported area. on the other hand brass from my g34 seems fine except that it is oversized a bit.

Medpilot 2
07-10-2004, 08:08
Wow, I haven't had brass do that yet. That brass looks pregnant. ;P

When you said bulged, I thought you were talking about all the way around. Not just in one spot. How hot were those loads?

4eyes
07-10-2004, 08:24
Difficult to tell from the pics; but that looks like brass that was manufactured very thin/weak in the web area. Made to be used one time and pitched. I have never seen any brass that looks that poor after one shot. Even our aluminum case Blazer is better looking. I normally get more than 10 reloads from 45 brass and possibly many more. Normally I lose them or reload until the neck splits. I suggest trying some different brass.

jasonub
07-10-2004, 08:51
actual cost 3.2 with vv 320 and lead heads. if you have 1000 pcs of brass, stronghand will charge 3.75 per round. if less its 4 pesos per round.

get2now
07-10-2004, 17:18
A new barrel will fix the problem, but don't get brass mixed up that's been shot through a Glock barrel and try to shoot it through the KKM unless you chamber check (with the actual barrel) first. It's not really a safety issue but a reliability issue.
Glock chambers are bigger than standard which is why they work so well but when they're fired the case expands to the size of the chamber. If you reload those and don't get them fully sized they won't chamber in a different brand of firearm.
Oh well, I guess that means you should only shoot Glocks.

cebuboy
07-10-2004, 18:58
hi medpilot, the bulge is on the unsupported area, the reloader loads them to standard pressure levels, compared to the hornady 200gr +p it is mild. btw, those are armscor brass, i have no problem with hornady brass.

get2now
07-10-2004, 19:36
cebuboy, I've heard that some people were having problems with Amrscor brass.
When I heard of the problems it was with 38 super rimless though.
Could just be a bad lot of it with your brass.

Medpilot 2
07-10-2004, 19:49
Yeah, I figured the bulge was from the 6 o'clock part of the barrel.

I've never used that brass before, but I would have to agree and say it's the brass you are using. The brass must be thinner down by the head.

Here's what happens when you are bored and have a dremel tool.

I did this to see how much thicker the webbing was on the .44 and .50AE brass that I reload.

cebuboy
07-10-2004, 20:09
Originally posted by get2now
cebuboy, I've heard that some people were having problems with Amrscor brass.
When I heard of the problems it was with 38 super rimless though.
Could just be a bad lot of it with your brass.

hi get2now, around 30% of the armscor brass has the bulge, however the reloader says that they can still be reloaded as the others did, but after reading those kb stories on the net, makes me nervous.

get2now
07-10-2004, 22:42
You have every right to be nervous about these loads. Has the ammo been chronographed and the bullet weighed? That might tell you something about it.
The reloader is right, they can be reloaded... It's just that when they're shot again that's when the case can fail and blow out.