Brute force questions [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Brute force questions

seti870
07-07-2004, 12:01
Hello. I apologize for the subject, I promise this is on the up and up. Honest.

Recently, I've been tasked as my 13 year old cousin's keeper. My relatives have requested that I remove certain personal information from his websites and online journal, primarily home phone number, family name, and the like.

To this end I need to access his freewebs.com account. I have his username, and know his password to be between 5 and 8 characters.

My options, as I see them, are thus.

a) install keystroke logging software on his computer

b) prolonged guessing at the login window

c) some automated form of B, which I understand is called brute force cracking.

I'm new at this.

a) isn't my first choice, becuase it means 5 hours driving. There is also a remote possibility he'll discover the new software.

What are my options as far as C ?

Regardless of how this turns out, he's going to have his computer removed for a good long while.

Appreciate any suggestions.

grantglock
07-07-2004, 12:15
ask him what it is

ronin_asano
07-07-2004, 12:18
asking him is the best option.

you don't want to run an attack against a server you don't own. they wouldn't take that too kindly.

G22Leon
07-07-2004, 12:23
As ronin indicated, it would not be wise to attempt to brute force his account. Personally, it would take to long, without the proper tools to do it. The keylogger is the easiest way, though you mentioned a travel issue. You could instruct the persons parents on how to install the software... How computer savvy is this 13 year old. Wise enough to notice rogue processes? Possible, but unlikely..

-Leon

gudel
07-07-2004, 12:26
any computing-advance 13year old will smell keylogger from a mile away.

i guess it's better if you just ask the kid. if he wouldn't give the information you seek, i guess torture is next. j/k :)

seti870
07-07-2004, 12:26