Surround sound suggestions? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Surround sound suggestions?

ThinkOfTheChildren
07-09-2004, 14:29
Like my alliteration? ;e

Anyway, I'm looking to get a surround sound system and have no idea where to start or how much this is going to cost me, let alone what brands or products to buy, so I figured I'd consult the masters ;f

My requirements are simple, I want something that I can have both my computer and my standalone DVD player plugged into which will provide surround sound for a small room. I don't need something hard installed into the walls/ceilings, just standalone speakers.

So where to start?
What products/brands do you recommend?
Do you recommend wired or wireless? Is there much of a cost difference between the two?

This system will be for enjoying DVD movies with friends. It doesn't need to be super fancy or top of the line.

If I haven't provided enough info, please tell me what else to provide. As I said, I'm totally new to this.

Halo
07-09-2004, 15:25
A lot of sound cards in computers these days come with digital outputs, either optical or coaxial. However, I am not sure how many (or if any) of them are capable of encoding a surround sound signal. They can relay such a signal from a DVD drive, since that is pre-encoded on the disc, but when it comes to multi-channel games and such, you will most likely need a receiver that can accept each channel in analog form. Otherwise, you'll only be getting 2-channel sound through the digital output.

I bought a Pioneer receiever for exactly that purpose. It has the standard optical and coax (digital) inputs for my standalone DVD player, as well as multi-channel (analog) inputs for my computer (i.e. use a separate RCA cable for front left, front right, center/sub, rear left, rear right). It has really good sound quality, and was not that expensive.

I think this is what you will need to get surround sound from both sources.

ThinkOfTheChildren
07-09-2004, 15:48