HD Just Bit Dust - Installed New HD [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : HD Just Bit Dust - Installed New HD


duncan
07-10-2004, 01:16
I to ogot hit by the nasty spyware bug going around.

Luckily my HP Pavilion was under warranty and they shipped me a new HD.

I lost my data though.

What things can I do to protect my data?

Maybe add a second internal HD into my case?

Newegg has them for $60-80.

Any other ideas on how to surf safely, do a little downloading, and protect?

gudel
07-10-2004, 02:22
the answer is right in front of you, just need to read it
http://www.glocktalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=190615

adding a 2nd drive will not do any good if you aren't careful of what you're clicking.

SamBuca
07-10-2004, 08:37
A lot of those steps seem unnecessary and a few of them will actually cripple your system.

You spent the $20 on anti-virus software...spend a couple more bucks on anti-spyware software like Pest Patrol (pestpatrol.com). It works much like anti-virus scanners in that it will stop programs on the fly to prevent infection.

I fail to see why you needed to replace a hard drive after a spyware infection...what happened?

lomfs24
07-10-2004, 08:44
Originally posted by SamBuca
I fail to see why you needed to replace a hard drive after a spyware infection...what happened?
I too don't know why you would need a new HD. What kind of spyware was this and what was it called? I would like to know more about this one.

NetNinja
07-10-2004, 08:55
Well since you have a new hard drive just install your OS and other Anti Spyware and virus programs.

Then take the (Bad?) hard drive and make it a slave.

Have your Virus program and anti spyare programs scan the slave drive.

After that's done you should be able to get your data off the drive.

SamBuca
07-10-2004, 09:30
If HP replaced the drive, they probably wanted the old drive back.

duncan
07-10-2004, 22:38
Originally posted by SamBuca
A lot of those steps seem unnecessary and a few of them will actually cripple your system.

You spent the $20 on anti-virus software...spend a couple more bucks on anti-spyware software like Pest Patrol (pestpatrol.com). It works much like anti-virus scanners in that it will stop programs on the fly to prevent infection.

I fail to see why you needed to replace a hard drive after a spyware infection...what happened?

The spyware is a virus and the fast never ending pop ups cause the HDs to spin faster and faster - till they literally break the arms inside - so all you hear is clicking and the dreaded black screen.

My IT guy is fighting it this weekend.

duncan
07-10-2004, 22:39
Originally posted by SamBuca
If HP replaced the drive, they probably wanted the old drive back.

Sent the dead HD back.

David_G17
07-11-2004, 01:24
Originally posted by duncan
The spyware is a virus and the fast never ending pop ups cause the HDs to spin faster and faster - till they literally break the arms inside - so all you hear is clicking and the dreaded black screen.

My IT guy is fighting it this weekend.

anyone else ever heard of this? i would think the maximum speed of a HD would be fixed and would not change based on the quantity of reads from the disk, but i don't know much about hardware.

the broken arms tend to make grinding sounds as they get slung around in there while the disk continues to spin, destroying the disk's surface. if the arms broke off, i sincerely doubt many ppl could recover much data from it.

gudel
07-11-2004, 01:53
HD speed is constant :)

it looks like it's a poor drive to begin with. should've seen the drives in our mainframe and servers. they work all day.

SamBuca
07-11-2004, 15:03
Originally posted by duncan
The spyware is a virus and the fast never ending pop ups cause the HDs to spin faster and faster - till they literally break the arms inside - so all you hear is clicking and the dreaded black screen.

My IT guy is fighting it this weekend.
I hope your IT guy didn't tell you that...it's incorrect.

1) Spyware is not a virus.
2) Virus/trojan/worm is not spyware/adware.
3) Popups don't cause your HD to spin faster...in fact, nothing will cause your drive to spin faster. It's either spinning at optimal speed or it's not spinning at all.

;Q

duncan
07-11-2004, 19:44
All I know is what I'm hearing.

I'm just a user not a pro.

Just trying to make things work again.

He did and I've loaded a good amount of SW to keep it running.

Thanks.

SamBuca
07-12-2004, 12:23
No offense to this IT guy (aw, who am I kidding)...but it sounds as if he may be causing more problems than he's solving.

The ONLY programs you should definitely have are:

1) Anti-spyware (I recommend pestpatrol.com)
2) Anti-virus (I recommend norton.com or mcafee.com)
3) Windows Update turned on

You don't need special software for your hard drive or a zillion other programs on your machine to make it more secure...and you definitely should NOT be changing a lot of settings for IE or Windows.

Sure, the IT guys will rant and rave about firewalls and popup blockers and disabling ActiveX and all that jazz. They'll probably throw in a lot of jargon to make it sound important - it isn't.

Don't hesitate to bug me if you need help or get confused ;f

duncan
07-12-2004, 12:31
Thanks

David_G17
07-12-2004, 12:40
Originally posted by SamBuca
...
The ONLY programs you should definitely have are:

...
3) Windows Update turned on
...
~must fight temptaion to mention step one... must fight it... must fight...~