Nationwide cell service [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Nationwide cell service

lomfs24
07-21-2004, 22:45
Long story short. My parents are traveling cross country.... a lot. And they wanted me to find out about a true nationwide cell service with no roaming. Does such a critter exsist? And if so, what is your recommendations?

btoler
07-21-2004, 23:16
I use Liberty wireless I live in Ohio and travle to NewYork mostly never had a charge for roaming. My plan is for the 48 states you get the phone over the internet. I've had it for a year now.

JCM298
07-22-2004, 06:33
lomfs24,

I've been using Verizon for about 14 years, although the name has changed a few times, the provider remainded the same. I've traveled from Hawaii to Nova Scotia, at various times, and only had problems in southwestern AZ and the north shore of Oahu. Both locations are at the extreme ends of the service area. Going through mountains disrupts service but over all, I've been satisfied.

Verizon has various plans to avoid roaming charges. You might also want to look into an AT&T calling card for long distance calls,

John

darin2
07-22-2004, 18:30
Nextel has nation wide service. They also have the direct connect (walkie talkie) which works well. My mother has it and calls me when she travels all over the country. It's like other services though. In remote areas you may not have good coverage.

Darin

JCM298
07-22-2004, 19:03
My employer issues Nextel to a large number of people. The "walkie/talkie" function works very well. It even works from Tucson to the eastcoast, per one user.

Problems have occurred with local phone service. There have been incidents where people could not talk to each other using the phone function and the distance was only a few miles. Of course, that could be placement of the cell towers.